Index

Space
Launchers

Suborbital
Vehicles

Ballistic
Missiles

Rocket
Ranges

Français


Alfa Alfa

Alfa

Italian activities in the field of long range missiles start from November 1957 with the signature of a secret agreement with France and the Federal Republic of Germany dealing with military applications of nuclear energy and common development of a 2,500 km range ballistic missile. This agreement would be renounced in the middle of the following year.
At the same time, the USA started negotiations with Italy in order to install Jupiter missiles on its soil and the Italian Navy decided, as part of its "Programma 1958", to transform the Giuseppe Garibaldi cruiser to a launcher of Polaris missiles. The technical arrangement signed in August 1959 between USA and Italy for the installation of missiles foresaw that the Jupiter would be set in motion by the Italian Air Force but that the nuclear heads would remain under American control. The 36° Aerobrigata Interdizione Strategica was constituted on April 23, 1960 at Gioja della Colle and the two units of 15 missiles each was put in operational service between February and July 1961. In December 1961 ejection tests of Polaris missile models started from the tubes installed aboard the Garibaldi cruiser. The following year, Garibaldi cruiser joined the Norfolk base for a series of tests with the US Navy.

Following the Cuba missile crisis of October 1962, the USA dismantled the Jupiter sites installed in Italy and Turkey and refused to provide Polaris to the Italian Navy. The 36° Aerobrigata Interdizione Strategica was dissolved on June 23, 1963. Jupiter missiles will be replaced by Polaris, but embarked on US submarines.

The Italian Navy does not renounce the possession of a national ballistic missile and were to undertake research in the second half of the 1960s. In 1969, it achieved the launch of a "2-stage vehicle of reduced performance but representative of the definitive missile". The Alfa ballistic missile program, of 1,600 km range, was finally begun in 1971 under the direction of the Gruppo Ricerche Speciali part of the Consiglio tecnico e scientifico Difesa della.
The prime contractor of the project was Aeritalia, responsible of structures and heatshield, with SNIA-BPD for propulsion, Selenia, Laben and Sistel for electronics. Alfa was to be 1.37-m in diameter (as with the Polaris) and 8.6-m long with a take-off mass of about 11 tons. The 3.85-m long first stage, the casing of which was in fiberglass-resin, was equipped with four revolving nozzles. Loaded with 6 t of polybutadiene binder propellant (Rocketdyne license), it delivered a thrust of 232 kN during 57 seconds. On May 2, 1975, Italy ratified the Nuclear non-Proliferation Treaty and renounced its independent deterrent. The Alfa program was therefore cancelled but 3 flight tests in a single-stage version topped with a dummy 2nd stage were successfully achieved between September 1975 and April 1976.


ALFA launches

DateSiteVehicleMissionResults
08 Sep 1975SDQAlfa 01TechnologyS
23 Oct 1975SDQAlfa 02TechnologyS
06 Apr 1976SDQAlfa 03TechnologyS
Notes: SDQ = Salto di Quirra


Please contact the author for comments, corrections or questions

Index

Lanceurs
spatiaux

Véhicules
suborbitaux

Missiles
balistiques

Centres de
lancement

English


Alfa Alfa

Alfa

Les activités italiennes dans le domaine des missiles à longue portée démarrent dès novembre 1957 avec la signature d’un accord secret avec la France et l’Allemagne fédérale portant sur les applications militaires de l’énergie nucléaire et la fabrication en commun d’un engin balistique de 2500 km de portée. Cet accord sera dénoncé au milieu de l'année suivante.
Au même moment, les USA entament des négociations avec l'Italie pour implanter sur son sol des missiles Jupiter et la Marine italienne décide, dans le cadre de son "programme 1958", de transformer le croiseur Giuseppe Garibaldi en lanceur de missiles Polaris. L'arrangement technique signé en août 1959 entre les USA et l'Italie pour l'installation des Jupiter prévoit que les missiles seront mis en oeuvre par l'Armée de l'Air italienne mais que les têtes nucléaires resteront sous contrôle américain. La 36° Aerobrigata Interdizione Strategica est constituée le 23 avril 1960 à Gioja del Colle et les deux unités de 15 missiles chacune sont mises en service opérationnel entre février et juillet 1961. En décembre 1961 débutent les essais d'éjection de maquettes de missiles Polaris depuis les tubes installés sur le croiseur Garibaldi. L'année suivante, le Garibaldi rejoint la base américaine de Norfolk pour une série d'essais avec la Marine américaine.

Suite à l'affaire des missiles de Cuba d'octobre 1962, les USA sont amenés à démanteler les bases de Jupiter installées en Italie et en Turquie et à refuser de fournir des Polaris à la Marine italienne. La 36° Aerobrigata Interdizione Strategica est dissoute le 23 juin 1963. Les missiles Jupiter seront remplacés par des Polaris, mais embarqués sur des sous-marins américains.

La Marine italienne ne renonce pas à la possession d'un missile balistique national et mène des études dans la seconde moitié des années 60. En 1969, elle procède au lancement d'un "engin biétage de performances réduites mais représentatif du missile définitif". Le programme de missile balistique Alfa de 1600 km de portée est finalement lancé en 1971 sous la direction du Gruppo Ricerche Speciali dépendant du Consiglio tecnico e scientifico della Difesa.
Le maître d'oeuvre du projet était Aeritalia, responsable des structures et du bouclier thermique, avec SNIA-BPD pour la propulsion, Selenia, Laben et Sistel pour l'électronique. Alfa devait mesurer 1.37 m de diamètre (comme le Polaris) et 8.6 m de long pour une masse totale d'environ 11 tonnes. Le premier étage, réalisé en fibre de verre-résine, était équipé de quatre tuyères orientables. Long de 3.85 m et chargé de 6 t de propergol à liant polybutadiène (licence Rocketdyne), il délivrait une poussée de 232 kN pendant 57 secondes. Le 2 mai 1975, l'Italie ratifia le Traité de non-prolifération nucléaire et renonça à sa défense stratégique indépendante. Le programme Alfa fut donc abandonné mais 3 essais en vol en version monoétage surmontée d'un étage inerte furent néanmoins réalisés avec succès entre septembre 1975 et avril 1976.


Calendrier de lancement des engins ALFA

DateSiteVéhiculeMissionRésultats
08 Sep 1975SDQAlfa 01TechnologieS
23 Oct 1975SDQAlfa 02TechnologieS
06 Apr 1976SDQAlfa 03TechnologieS
Notes: SDQ = Salto di Quirra


Adresser commentaires, corrections ou questions à l'auteur