Index

Space
Launchers

Suborbital
Vehicles

Rocket
Ranges

Français


Temporary ranges


Sondre Stromfjord, Greenland, Denmark (50.6°W, 67.0°N)

The first sounding rockets launches from Greenland were carried out from the American ice-breaker Eastwind during the summer 1952. They were experiments of the Rockoon (Rocket on Balloon) program in which small Deacon rockets were fired after being elevated up to 16 km of altitude by means of balloons. This program of studies, directed by Pr James A. Van Allen, comprised experiments from the State University of Iowa and the Naval Research Laboratory. After two other campaigns in 1953 and 1954, the 1955 campaign saw the introduction of Loki rockets, less powerful but cheaper, and also Deacon-Loki 2-stage rockets. The 1957 campaign used only Loki II rockets.

Thereafter, AFCRL proceeded to several Arcas launching campaigns from Thule Air Force Base within the framework of the PCA program (Polar Cape Absorption). Thule Air Force Base was also a launch site in the Meteorological Rocket Network (MRN) and a lot of meteorological rockets (Loki-Dart) were launched there.

In 1971 the Danish Meteorological Institute set up a sounding rocket range at Sondre Stromfjord in Greenland. The object was to conduct sounding-rocket experiments in the particular ionospheric regions known as the "dayside auroral oval" and "polar cap ionosphere". Sondre Stromfjord is an airport located at the inland end of a narrow fiord of the same name. The rocket range is manned during launch periods only. On August 22 and 24, 1971 two Nike-Apache were the first rockets launched there, as part of the Danish national program. Other rockets launches campaigns were carried out from Sondre Stromfjord since, most of them in cooperation with USA, but also with Germany, Sweden, and United Kingdom.

Tables
a/ Rockoon launches between Boston and Thule
b/ Launches from Thule
c/ Launches from Sondre Stromfjord


Vik, Iceland (19.0°W, 63.7°N)
Two French Dragon rockets campaigns were carried out using a CNES mobile ramp settled at Vik, Iceland. Four sounding rockets were launched (2 in August 1964 and 2 in August-September 1965) for high latitude van Allen belts studies.

Coronie, Dutch Guyana (now Surinam) (56.2°W, 5.8°N)
Four Nike-Apache sounding rockets were launched in September 1965 from the northern part of Dutch Guyana. These experiments were carried out by the university of Utrecht and the KNMI (Dutch Weather Bureau) for studying winds at high altitude.

Karystos, Evia island, Greece (24.6°E, 38.0°N)
A sounding rockets launching range was established on the Evia island to observe the eclipse of 20 May 1966. Seven ESRO rockets (5 Sparrow-Arcas and 2 Centaure) were launched during the eclipse, after two launches (1 Sparrow-Arcas and 1 Centaure) on 15 May. NASA participated in this campaign too, launching 7 boosted-Arcas from a ship (1 on 15 May, 5 during the eclipse and 1 the following day).

Dumont d'Urville station, Adelie Land, Antarctica, France (140°E, 66.7°S)
The Dumont d'Urville station was used, in January 1967, for a launch campaign comprising four Dragon rockets. The objective of experiments (CNES and Ionospheric Research Group) related to the study of the anomalies of the upper atmosphere behavior centered over magnetic midday.

Port aux Français, Kerguelen islands, Indian ocean, France (70.3°E, 49.4°S)
Several sounding rockets launching campaigns occurred from the Kerguelen islands:
- in March-April 1968, three rocket Dragon IIB for a CNES program ,
- in January-February 1975, two Eridan rockets fired for the ARAKS program (ARtificial Aurora between Kerguelen and Sogra) carried out in Franco-Russian collaboration. Two Arcas rockets were also fired before and after each Eridan rocket as part of an American program,
- between 1973 and 1981, several dozens of M-100 rockets launched as part of a Russian program carried out in conjunction with some other launch sites distributed from North Pole to South Pole, intended to proceed to meridian cut of the upper atmosphere.

Table d/ Launches from Kerguelen islands

Haugnes (16.2°E, 69.3°N) and Marka, Lista (7.3°E, 58.2°N), Norway
In the beginning of the 80's, Norway launched meteorological rockets (Super Loki) from two temporary sites. Four rockets were launched from the Haugnes site, near Andøya in 1982. Eight have were launched from Marka, south of Norway, in 1983, then four in 1984.

Zingst, former Eastern Germany (12.80°E, 54.44°N)
The Weather Service of former Eastern Germany launched five Polish Meteor-1 rockets from the Zingst rocket range during the seventies. Then, between 1988 and 1992, several dozens of Russian MMR06-M meteorological rockets were launched from that place.

Table e/ Launches from Zingst peninsula


Lists under construction (probably incomplete) - Informations or corrections are welcome

a/ Rockoon launches between Boston and Thule
YearTotalDetail
195277 Deacon
19532222 Deacon
19542020 Deacon
19552618 Deacon, 6 Loki I, 2 Deacon-Loki I
19571818 Loki II

b/ Launches from Thule Air Force Base (63.8°W, 76.4°N)
YearTotalDetail
197055 Arcas
197166 Sparrow-Arcas
197264 Arcas, 2 Sparrow-Arcas
197311 Sparrow-Arcas
197411 Sparrow-Arcas

c/ Launches from Sondre Stromfjord (50.6°W, 67.0°N)
Detailed list

YearTotalDetail
197122 Nike-Apache
197211 Nike-Tomahawk
197492 Black Brant 4, 3 Nike-Tomahawk, 4 Petrel
197511 Black Brant 4
197622 Nike-Tomahawk
198581 Black Brant IX, 2 Black Brant X, 1 Nike-Tomahawk, 1 Taurus-Orion, 1 Taurus-Tomahawk, 2 Terrier-Malemute
198792 Black Brant IX, 1 Nike-Tomahawk, 1 Taurus-Tomahawk, 3 Taurus-Nike-Tomahawk, 2 Terrier-Malemute


d/ Launches from Kerguelen Islands (70.3°E, 49.4°S)

YearTotalDetail
196833 Dragon
19731717 M-100
197422 M-100
1975175 Arcas, 2 Eridan, 10 M-100
19782020 M-100
19792020 M-100
19802020 M-100
19812020 M-100


e/ Launches from Zingst peninsula (12.80°E, 54.44°N)
Detailed list

YearTotalDetail
197?55 Meteor-1
198866 MMR06-M
19891313 MMR06-M
19902424 MMR06-M
19921919 MMR06-M



Top
of the page

Space
Launchers

Suborbital
Vehicles

Rocket
Ranges

Français


Please contact Jean-Jacques Serra <JJ.Serra@wanadoo.fr> for comments, corrections or questions

Index

Lanceurs
spatiaux

Véhicules
suborbitaux

Centres de
lancement

English


Bases temporaires


Sondre Stromfjord, Groenland, Danemark (50.6°W, 67.0°N)

Les premiers lancements de fusées-sondes depuis le Groenland ont été réalisés à partir du brise-glace américain Eastwind au cours de l'été 1952. Il s'agissait d'expériences du programme Rockoon (Rocket on Balloon) où de petites fusées Deacon étaient mises à feu après avoir été amenées à 16 km d'altitude à l'aide de ballons. Ce programme d'études, dirigé par le Pr James A. Van Allen, comportait des expériences de l'université de l'Iowa et du Naval Research Laboratory. Après deux autres campagnes en 1953 et 1954, la campagne de 1955 vit l'introduction de fusées Loki, moins puissantes mais plus économiques, et aussi de fusées bi-étages Deacon-Loki. La campagne de 1957 fut entièrement réalisée avec des fusées Loki II.

L'AFCRL a, par la suite procédé à plusieurs campagnes de lancements de fusées Arcas depuis Thule Air Force Base dans le cadre du programme PCA (Polar Cap Absorption). Thule Air Force Base était aussi une base de lancement du Meteorological Rocket Network (MRN) et de nombreuses fusées météorologiques (Loki-Dart) furent lancées de là .

En 1971, l'Institut Météorologique Danois a installé une base de lancement de fusées à Sondre Stromfjord au Groenland. L'objectif était de pouvoir réaliser des expériences en fusées-sondes dans des zones particulières de l'ionosphère connues sous le nom de "dayside auroral oval" et "polar cap ionosphere". Sondre Stromfjord est un aéroport situé à l'extrémité d'un étroit fjord du même nom. La base est habitée seulement pendant les campagnes de tirs. Les 22 et 24 août 1971, deux Nike-Apache furent les premières fusées lancées de là, dans le cadre du programme national danois. D'autres campagnes de lancement de fusées ont été réalisées de Sondre Stromfjord depuis, la plupart en coopération avec les USA, mais aussi l'Allemagne, la Suède, et le Royaume-Uni.

Tableaux
a/ Lancements de Rockoon entre Boston et Thule
b/ Lancements depuis Thule
c/ Lancements depuis Sondre Stromfjord


Vik, Islande (19.0°W, 63.7°N)
Deux campagnes de lancement de fusées-sondes françaises Dragon ont été réalisées par une unité mobile du CNES installée à Vik, en Islande. Quatre fusées ont été lancées (2 en août 1964 et 2 en août-septembre 1965) pour étudier les ceintures de van Allen depuis une latitude élevée.

Coronie, Guyane hollandaise (maintenant Surinam) (56.2°W, 5.8°N)
Une campagne de lancement de quatre fusées Nike-Apache a été réalisée au nord de la Guyane hollandaise en septembre 1965. Ces expériences étaient menées par l'université d'Utrecht et le KNMI (Bureau météorologique hollandais) pour étudier les vents à haute altitude.

Karystos, Ile d'Eubée, Grèce (24.6°E, 38.0°N)
Un champ de tir de fusées-sondes a été implanté par l'ESRO sur l'île d'Eubée pour observer l'éclipse de soleil du 20 mai 1966. Sept fusées (5 Sparrow-Arcas et 2 Centaure) furent lancées par l'ESRO pendant l'éclipse, après deux tirs (1 Sparrow-Arcas et 1 Centaure) réalisés le 15 mai. La NASA participa également à cette campagne avec 7 lancements de boosted-Arcas depuis un navire (1 le 15 mai, 5 pendant l'éclipse et 1 le lendemain).

Base Dumont d'Urville, Terre Adélie, Antarctique, France (140°E, 66.7°S)
La base Dumont d'Urville a été utilisée, en janvier 1967, pour une campagne de tirs comportant quatre lancements de fusées Dragon. L'objectif des expériences (CNES et GRI) concernait l'étude des anomalies du comportement de la haute atmosphère centrées sur le midi magnétique.

Port aux Français, Iles Kerguelen, Océan Indien, France (70.3°E, 49.4°S)
Plusieurs campagnes de tirs de fusées-sondes ont été effectuées depuis les îles Kerguelen :
- en mars-avril 1968, trois fusées Dragon IIB pour un programme du CNES,
- en janvier-février 1975, deux fusées Eridan tirées pour le programme ARAKS (ARtificial Aurora between Kerguelen and Sogra) réalisé en collaboration franco-russe. Deux fusées Arcas furent également tirées avant et après chaque fusée Eridan dans le cadre d'une expérience américaine,
- de 1973 à 1981, plusieurs dizaines de fusées M-100 tirées dans le cadre d'un programme russe mené en conjonction avec d'autres sites de lancement répartis du pôle Nord au pôle Sud, ayant pour but de procéder à une coupe méridienne de la haute atmosphère.

Table d/ Lancements depuis les îles Kerguelen

Haugnes (16.2°E, 69.3°N) et Marka, Lista (7.3°E, 58.2°N), Norvège
Au début des années 80, la Norvège a lancé des fusées météorologiques (Super Loki) depuis deux sites temporaires. Quatre fusées ont été lancées depuis le site de Haugnes, près d'Andøya en 1982. Huit ont été lancées depuis Marka, au sud de la Norvège, en 1983, puis quatre en 1984.

Zingst, ex-Allemagne de l'Est (12.80°E, 54.44°N)
Le Service Météorologique de l'ex-Allemagne de l'Est a lancé cinq fusées polonaises Meteor-1 depuis le champ de tir de Zingst pendant les années 1970. Ensuite, entre 1988 et 1992, plusieurs dizaines de fusées météorologiques russes MMR06-M furent lancées depuis ce site.

Table e/ Lancements depuis la péninsule de Zingst


Listes en cours d'élaboration (probablement incomplètes) - Toute information ou correction est bienvenue

a/ Lancements de Rockoon entre Boston et Thule
AnnéeTotalDétail
195277 Deacon
19532222 Deacon
19542020 Deacon
19552618 Deacon, 6 Loki I, 2 Deacon-Loki I
19571818 Loki II

b/ Lancements depuis Thule Air Force Base (63.8°W, 76.4°N)
AnnéeTotalDétail
197055 Arcas
197166 Sparrow-Arcas
197264 Arcas, 2 Sparrow-Arcas
197311 Sparrow-Arcas
197411 Sparrow-Arcas

c/ Lancements depuis Sondre Stromfjord (50.6°W, 67.0°N)
Liste détaillée

AnnéeTotalDétail
197122 Nike-Apache
197211 Nike-Tomahawk
197492 Black Brant 4, 3 Nike-Tomahawk, 4 Petrel
197511 Black Brant 4
197622 Nike-Tomahawk
198581 Black Brant IX, 2 Black Brant X, 1 Nike-Tomahawk, 1 Taurus-Orion, 1 Taurus-Tomahawk, 2 Terrier-Malemute
198792 Black Brant IX, 1 Nike-Tomahawk, 1 Taurus-Tomahawk, 3 Taurus-Nike-Tomahawk, 2 Terrier-Malemute


d/ Lancements depuis les îles Kerguelen (70.3°E, 49.4°S)

AnnéeTotalDétail
196833 Dragon
19731717 M-100
197422 M-100
1975175 Arcas, 2 Eridan, 10 M-100
19782020 M-100
19792020 M-100
19802020 M-100
19812020 M-100


e/ Lancements depuis la péninsule de Zingst (12.80°E, 54.44°N)
Liste détaillée

AnnéeTotalDétail
197?55 Meteor-1
198866 MMR06-M
19891313 MMR06-M
19902424 MMR06-M
19921919 MMR06-M



Sommet
de la page

Lanceurs
spatiaux

Véhicules
suborbitaux

Centres de
lancement

English


Adresser commentaires, corrections ou questions à Jean-Jacques Serra <JJ.Serra@wanadoo.fr>