Index

Space
Launchers

Suborbital
Vehicles

Rocket
Ranges

Français


Adapted from The Satellite Encyclopedia.

Black Arrow launcher

Black Arrow Black Arrow

The development of the Black Arrow space launcher began in 1964 under direction of the Royal Aircraft Establishment. It was 3-stage rocket of only 13 m high weighing 18.1 tons at takeoff with a LEO payload capacity of nearly 100 kg.

The first stage weighed 14.1 tons and measured 5.9 m in length and 2 m in diameter. It was equipped with a Gamma-8 motor that featured 8 combustion chambers (gimbaled nozzles). It burned during 125 seconds providing 218 kN thrust at sea level and 251 kN in vacuum. The second stage was 3.55 m high, 1.37 m in diameter and weighed 3.5 tons. Its Gamma-2 motor featuring 2 combustion chambers (gimbaled nozzles) used the same propellant and delivered 69 kN thrust during 120 seconds. The third stage was under the 1.37 m diameter fairing and placed on a spinning table. It was 1.3 m high, 71 cm in diameter and weighed 0.5. This stage was powered by a Waxwing solid fuel motor providing a mean thrust of 21 kN during 40 seconds. Black Arrow

The first suborbital flight, which occurred in June 1969 failed but the second in March 1970 was successful. The first orbiting attempt failed in September 1970 when second stage shutdown 13 seconds early. In July 1971 the British government decided to drop the national program although one flight was still to be carried out. Nonetheless it was fired in October 1971 and orbited the Prospero satellite.


Black Arrow launches

#Launch idPayloadLaunch DateSiteTypeStatus/Comment
1n/aSuborbital flight29 Jun 1969WOO2-stageFailure: control lost after 50 sec
2n/aSuborbital flight04 Mar 1970WOO2-stage 
3n/aOrba X202 Sep 1970WOO Failure: 2nd stage produced unsufficient thrust
471093Prospero X328 Oct 1971WOO  

Note: All launches from Woomera Rocket Range, Australia

 


Top
of the page

Space
Launchers

Suborbital
Vehicles

Rocket
Ranges

Français


Please contact Jean-Jacques Serra <JJ.Serra@wanadoo.fr> for comments, corrections or questions

Index

Lanceurs
spatiaux

Véhicules
suborbitaux

Centres de
lancement

English


Adapté de The Satellite Encyclopedia.

Le lanceur Black Arrow

Black Arrow Black Arrow

Le développement du lanceur spatial Black Arrow commença en 1964 sous la maîtrise d'oeuvre du Royal Aircraft Establishment. Il s'agissait d'un lanceur triétage mesurant seulement 13 m de haut pour une masse totale au décollage de 18.1 tonnes, avec une capacité de charge utile en orbite basse légèrement inférieure 100 kg.

Le premier étage pesait 14.1 tonnes et mesurait 5.9 m de haut pour 2 m de diamètre. Il était équipé d'un moteur Gamma-8, à huit chambres de combustion (tuyères orientables), utilisant le couple péroxyde d'hydrogène et kérosène. Il fonctionnait pendant 125 secondes et délivrant 218 kN de poussée au décollage et 251 kN dans le vide. Le deuxième mesurait 3.55 m de haut 1.37 m de diamètre et pesait 3.5 tonnes. Son moteur Gamma-2, à deux chambresde combustion (tuyères orientables), utilisait les mêmes ergols et fournissait une poussée de 69 kN pendant 120 secondes. Le troisième étage se trouvait sous la coiffe de 1.37 m de diamètre et reposait sur une table de mise en rotation. Il mesurait 1.3 m de haut pour 71 cm de diamètre et pesait 0.5 tonne. Il était équipé d'un moteur Waxwing à poudre fournissant une poussée moyenne de 21 kN pendant 40 secondes. Black Arrow

Le premier tir suborbital en juin 1969, échoua, mais le deuxième en mars 1970, fut un succès. La première tentative de satellisation se solda par un échec en septembre 1970, le deuxième étage ayant cessé de fonctionner 13 secondes trop tôt. En juillet 1971, le gouvernement britannique décida d'abandonner le programme national de lanceur alors qu'il restait un tir à effectuer. Le dernier lancement du programme Black Arrow eut cependant lieu le 28 octobre 1971 et vit la mise en orbite du satellite X-3 Prospero.


Lancements de Black Arrow

#IdentificationChargeDateSiteTypeCommentaires
1n/aVol suborbital29 Jun 1969WOO2 étagesEchec: contrôle perdu après 50 sec
2n/aVol suborbital04 Mar 1970WOO2 étages 
3n/aOrba X202 Sep 1970WOO Echec: Poussée insuffisante du 2me étage
471093Prospero X328 Oct 1971WOO  

Notes: Tous les lancements depuis le Woomera Rocket Range, Australie


Sommet
de la page

Lanceurs
spatiaux

Véhicules
suborbitaux

Centres de
lancement

English


Adresser commentaires, corrections ou questions à Jean-Jacques Serra <JJ.Serra@wanadoo.fr>