Index

Space
Launchers

Suborbital
Vehicles

Ballistic
Missiles

Rocket
Ranges

Français


Blue Water Blue Water

Blue Water


The outline of the Blue Water concept was unveiled in 1956: this tactical weapon was to be a large solid propellant rocket with inertial guidance ranging over 50 km. The missile with its launcher had to be transportable by air and land and have a quick launch reaction time. The prime contractor was English Electric, the GW Division of which had developed the Thunderbird SAM and was responsible of the Corporal in the British Army since 1956.

The resulting design was for a 1360 kg (3000-lb) rocket, 7.6 m (25-ft) long and 61 cm (2-ft) in diameter, with mid-section wings and large tail fins. Full development started in 1958 and proceeded rapidly with preliminary test vehicle launches at Aberporth and Woomera. Thirteen 3/8 scale flight models were fired at Woomera between late 1958 and early 1959 to determine the aerodynamic behavior.
The Blue Water propulsion requirement was initially answered by an IMI Summerfield motor called Saluki. Saluki contained a dual grain charge (560 + 442 kg of CDB propellant) which delivered 195.5 kN for 6 s and 35.6 kN until 27 s. The first static firing with a full scale propellant charge was carried out in October 1958. This was followed in April 1959 by the first static firing of a lightweight - strip laminate case - motor. The first Blue Water flight occurred on 21st April 1960 from Aberporth using a heavyweight motor and the first flight using the lightweight motor case was on 26th April 1960. Over the next two years, the flight tests series progressed as far as the 15th flight (on 7th June 1962) and the 5th launcher proving trial (on 16th July 1962). Then, following ministerial changes in London, Blue Water was suddenly cancelled on 10th August 1962.

The operational version was to be equipped with a dual chamber motor (boost and sustainer) allowing selective ignition time for the sustainer and thus better targeting flexibility. A polyurethane propellant motor proposed by Westcott was selected. This new motor called Phoenix, incorporating a petal valve between the two propellant charges contained in separate chambers, was to deliver 9,000 kN for 10 s and 1,350 kN until 27.5 s. At the time of Blue Water cancellation, development of Phoenix had reached the stage of 17-in test motors static firing. Tests continued on a research basis and a 24-in dual chamber motor was successfully statically fired in November 1964.


Please contact the author for comments, corrections or questions

Index

Lanceurs
spatiaux

Véhicules
suborbitaux

Missiles
balistiques

Centres de
lancement

English


Blue Water Blue Water

Blue Water


Les grandes lignes du projet Blue Water ont été dévoilées en 1956: cette arme tactique devait être un gros missile à propulsion solide, à guidage inertiel, portant à plus de 50 km. L'engin avec son dispositif de lancement devait être transportable par terre et par air, et présenter un court délai de mise en œuvre. Le maître d'œuvre était English Electric, la division de GW qui avait développé le Thunderbird et était responsable du Corporal dans l'armée britannique depuis 1956.

Le concept était celui d'une fusée de 1360 kg, mesurant 7.6 m (25 pieds) de long et 61 cm (2 pieds) de diamètre, avec des ailerons à mi-hauteur et un grand empennage. Le développement commença en 1958 et se concrétisa rapidement avec des lancements préliminaires d'engins expérimentaux à Aberporth et Woomera. Treize modèles de vol à l'échelle 3/8 furent tirés depuis Woomera entre fin 1958 et début 1959 pour étudier le comportement aérodynamique.
Les exigences relatives à la propulsion du Blue Water ont été initialement remplies par propulseur d'IMI Summerfield appelé Saluki. Saluki contenait un bloc à 2 régimes de poussée (560 + 442 kg de propergol double base) qui délivrait 195.5 kN pendant 6 s et 35.6 kN jusqu'à 27 s. Le premier tir statique à pleine charge a été réalisé en octobre 1958. Il a été suivi en avril 1959 par le premier tir statique d'une version allégée à enveloppe roulée-soudée. Le premier tir du Blue Water, qui utilisait la version lourde, a eu lieu le 21 avril 1960 depuis Aberporth, suivi par le premier tir en version allégée le 26 avril 1960. Pendant les deux années qui suivirent, les tirs se poursuivirent jusqu'au 15ème vol d'essai (7 juin 1962) et le 5ème vol de qualification (16 juillet 1962). Alors, à la suite de changements ministériels à Londres, le projet Blue Water fut subitement annulé le 10 août 1962.

La version opérationnelle devait être équipée d'un moteur à double chambre (accélération et croisière) permettant de choisir l'instant d'allumage du moteur principal et donc améliorer la flexibilité de l'arme. Un propulseur à liant polyuréthane proposé par Westcott avait été sélectionné. Ce nouveau moteur appelé Phoenix, incorporant une valve en pétale entre les deux blocs contenus dans des chambres séparées, devait délivrer 9000 kN pendant 10 s et 1350 kN jusqu'à 27.5 s. Au moment de l'arrêt du Blue Water, le développement de Phoenix avait atteint le stade des essais au banc de moteurs de 17 pouces. Les essais furent poursuivis sur une base de recherche et un moteur à double chambre de 24 pouces a été tiré au banc avec succès en novembre 1964.


Adresser commentaires, corrections ou questions à l'auteur