Index

Space
Launchers

Suborbital
Vehicles

Rocket
Ranges

Français


Eole rocket

From 1927 to 1931, Jean-Jacques Barré, then lieutenant at the Technical Section of Artillery, collaborated, in a private capacity, with Robert Esnault-Pelterie's work on liquid rocketry. From 1931 to 1932, he assisted Esnault-Pelterie who worked under Ministry of War contract.
Appointed to the Gun Powder Commission in 1933, he was prevented from resuming his studies on rockets until 1935. Until the beginning of the war, he worked on an anti-aircraft weapon project called "shell-rocket". It was a 16 kg unguided rocket launched from a mortar, 120 mm in diameter and 1.80 m long. Powered by benzotoluene and nitrogen peroxide, its engine had to deliver a 700 daN thrust.

EA 1941 EA 1941

EA 1941
In December 1940, the Technical Section of Artillery was reconstituted clandestinely in Lyon under the name "Central Service of Markets and Stores Surveillance". Barré was appointed there and he proposed the development of different types of rocket powered weapons but also sounding rockets.
In July 1941, the Ministry of War ordered the development of 22 liquid rockets camouflaged under the name "gazogenerators". These missiles, codenamed EA 1941, had to be capable of sending a 25 kg payload to a distance of 100 km. Barré came back to the propellants that had given satisfaction to Esnault-Pelterie: liquid oxygen and petroleum ether. The tanks were concentric, the liquid oxygen being at the centre. The nitrogen pressure-fed engine, had to deliver a 10 kN thrust.
Static tests were first achieved in 1941-42 at the camp of the Larzac (3) then in Vancia (4), in the suburb of Lyon. In spite of failures, thrusts between 6 to more than 8 kN were obtained. Flight tests were foreseen in Algeria, and a part of the equipment had been sent to Oran, when the Allied landing in North Africa interrupted the program.
After the liberation, the equipment was gathered - including the one that had been stored in Oran - and the flight tests were programmed at the La Renardière range, close to Toulon. The rocket weighed about 100 kg and was 26 cm in diameter and 3.13 m long. Stabilised by 3 fins, it was launched from a 16 m long ramp.
The first launch, on March 15, 1945 was a partial success. The following day, the second was a failure. On July 6, 1945, three launches were done of which two were partial successes with ranges of 10 and 60 km. The last two launches failed in July 1946.

Eole Eole

Eole (EA 1946 / EA 1951)
The Ballistics and Aeronautical Research Laboratory (LRBA) had been created in Vernon on May 17, 1946, by the Weapons Studies and Manufactures Directorate (DEFA). Jean-Jacques Barré resumed his works there on rocket propulsion and designed a rocket called EA 1946, initially intended to improve the knowledge in this field, but also to finalise a long range ballistic missile (300 kg to 1000 km). This rocket, quickly renamed EOLE (Vehicle using Liquid Oxygen and petroleum Ether), was derived from the EA 1941. It had to be 80 cm in diameter, 11 m long and to weigh 3.4 tons at takeoff. The configuration with concentric tanks as with the EA 1941 was kept as well as the nitrogen pressure supply system. The engine had to develop 100 kN thrust.
Static tests started in February 1949 in Vernon. The first one was relatively satisfactory but the second, in January 1950, ended in the explosion of the test bed. It was suspected that the mixture petroleum ether - liquid oxygen could be hypergolic.
Petroleum ether was therefore replaced by alcohol in a new version of the rocket named EA 1951 or EOLE (Vehicle using Liquid Oxygen and Ethyl alcohol). The tank arrangement was also modified: now in tandem instead of concentrically.
The first static test took place in December 1950; it was followed by 6 others until September 1951, then by 3 others with complete vehicles, between March and October 1952. Thrusts higher than 90 kN were obtained.
The nominal thrust of 100 kN - with plans to increase to 140 kN - was insufficient to assure a launch stability for a rocket weighing more than 3 tons. Two solutions were under consideration: addition of an auxiliary propulsion providing 240 kN during 0.5 s (composed of two solid motors wrapped around Eole) and use of a cable system (rotating drum table) derived from the one used for Véronique.
None of these systems was ready at the expected date of the first flight tests. It was therefore decided to launch lightened vehicles with a propellant capacity reduced to 2/5 of the nominal one. The takeoff mass was only 1788 kg of which 1090 kg were propellants. The rocket was unguided but stabilised by 3 triangular fins. It was launched from a 21 m long ramp supported by a metallic lattice tetrapode.
Two flight tests took place in November 1952 from Hammaguir. Both ended in failure, the fin arrangement being destroyed at the time of crossing the sound barrier.

The Eole project was cancelled in December 1952, as well as all LRBA work with liquid oxygen. The storable propellants, easier to use for missile propulsion, would be used in fact on all French liquid sounding rockets as well as on the first stage of the different versions of Diamant.


Fusées EA
EA

EA rockets launch log

DateSiteVehicleMissionResults
15 Mar 1945LRNEA1941 #1TechnologyF, in flight
16 Mar 1945LRNEA1941 #2TechnologyF, on pad
06 Jul 1945LRNEA1941 #3Technology 
06 Jul 1945LRNEA1941 #4Technology 
06 Jul 1945LRNEA1941 #5TechnologyS, 60 km range
18 Jul 1945LRNEA1941 #6TechnologyF, on pad
18 Jul 1945LRNEA1941 #7TechnologyF, on pad
22 Nov 1952HMGEA1946 #1TechnologyF, in flight
24 Nov 1952HMGEA1946 #2TechnologyF, in flight
Notes: LRN = La Renardière, Toulon; HMG = Hammaguir


Top
of the page

Space
Launchers

Suborbital
Vehicles

Rocket
Ranges

Français


Please contact Jean-Jacques Serra <JJ.Serra@wanadoo.fr> for comments, corrections or questions

Index

Lanceurs
spatiaux

Véhicules
suborbitaux

Centres de
lancement

English


La fusée Eole

De 1927 à 1931, Jean-Jacques Barré, alors lieutenant à la Section Technique d'Artillerie, collabore, à titre privé, aux travaux de Robert Esnault-Pelterie sur la propulsion fusée. De 1931 à 1932, il sera d'ailleurs détaché auprès d'Esnault-Pelterie qui travaille sous contrat du Ministère de la Guerre.
Affecté à la Commission des Poudres de Guerre en 1933, il n'est autorisé à reprendre ses études sur les fusées qu'en 1935. Jusqu'au début de la guerre, il travaille sur un projet d'arme anti-aérienne appelée "obus-fusée". Il s'agissait d'un engin non-guidé de 16 kg lancé par mortier, mesurant 120 mm de diamètre et 1.80 m de long. Fonctionnant au benzotoluène et peroxyde d'azote, son moteur devait délivrer une poussée de 700 daN.

EA 1941 EA 1941

EA 1941
Dès décembre 1940, la Section Technique d'Artillerie fut reconstituée clandestinement à Lyon sous le nom de "Service Central des Marchés et de Surveillance des Approvisionnements". Barré y fut affecté et proposa la mise au point de différents types d'engins autopropulsés pour des applications militaires mais aussi de recherche.
En juillet 1941, le Ministère de la Guerre commandait la réalisation de 22 fusées à liquides camouflées sous l'appellation de "gazogénérateurs". Ces engins, baptisés en fait EA 1941 (Engin Autopropulsé 1941), devaient être capable d'envoyer une charge de 25 kg à 100 km de distance. Barré revenait aux propergols qui avaient donné satisfaction à Esnault-Pelterie : oxygène liquide et éther de pétrole. Les réservoirs étaient concentriques, l'oxygène liquide étant au centre. Le moteur, alimenté par pression d'azote, devait délivrer une poussée de 10 kN.
Les essais statiques furent réalisés en 1941-42 au camp du Larzac d'abord (3) puis à Vancia, dans la banlieue de Lyon (4). Malgré des échecs, des poussées de 6 à plus de 8 kN furent obtenues. Des essais en vol étaient prévus en Algérie, et une partie du matériel avait été expédiée à Oran, quand le débarquement allié en Afrique du Nord vint interrompre le programme.
Après la libération, le matériel fut rassemblé - y compris celui qui avait été stocké à Oran - et les essais en vol furent programmés au polygone de la Renardière, près de Toulon. La fusée pesait environ 100 kg et mesurait 26 cm de diamètre pour 3.13 m de long. Stabilisée par un empennage tripale, elle était tirée depuis une rampe de 16 m de long.
Le premier lancement, réalisé le 15 mars 1945 fut un succès partiel. Le lendemain, le second fut un échec. Le 6 juillet 1945, trois tirs furent effectués dont deux succès partiels avec des portées de 10 et 60 km. Deux derniers lancements échouèrent en juillet 1946.

Eole Eole

Eole (EA 1946 / EA 1951)
Le Laboratoire de Recherches Balistiques et Aéronautiques (LRBA) avait créé à Vernon, le 17 mai 1946, par la Direction des Etudes et Fabrications d'Armes (DEFA). Jean-Jacques Barré y reprit ses travaux sur la propulsion par fusée et conçut un engin appelé EA 1946 d'abord destiné à faire progresser la connaissance en ce domaine, mais aussi à mettre au point un missile balistique à longue portée (300 kg à 1000 km). Cette fusée, qui reçut rapidement le nom de EOLE (Engin fonctionnant à l'Oxygène Liquide et à l'Ether de pétrole), était le prolongement de l'EA 1941. Elle devait mesurer 80 cm de diamètre, 11 m de long et peser 3,4 tonnes au décollage. La configuration à réservoirs concentriques de l'EA 1941 était conservée ainsi que le système d'alimentation par pression d'azote. Le moteur devait développer 100 kN.
Les essais au banc débutèrent en février 1949 à Vernon. Le premier fut relativement satisfaisant mais le second, en janvier 1950, se termina par l'explosion du banc d'essai. On s'aperçut ainsi que le mélange éther de pétrole - oxygène liquide pouvait être hypergolique.
L'éther de pétrole fut donc remplacé par l'alcool sur une nouvelle version de l'engin désignée EA 1951 ou EOLE (Engin fonctionnant à l'Oxygène Liquide et à l'alcool Ethylique). La disposition des réservoirs fut également modifiée : réservoirs en tandem au lieu des réservoirs concentriques.
Le premier essai au banc eut lieu en décembre 1950, il fut suivi de 6 autres jusqu'en septembre 1951, puis de 3 autres, sur engins complets, entre mars et octobre 1952. Des poussées de plus de 90 kN furent obtenues.
La poussée nominale de 100 kN - qu'on envisageait de porter à 140 kN - était insuffisante pour assurer la stabilité du lancement d'un engin de plus de 3 tonnes. Deux solutions étaient à l'étude : adjonction d'une propulsion auxiliaire fournissant 240 kN pendant 0.5 s (composé de deux moteurs situés de part et d'autre d'Eole) et utilisation d'un système à câbles (table à tambour tournant) dérivé de celui utilisé pour Véronique.
Aucun de ces systèmes n'était prêt au moment de la date prévue pour les premiers essais en vol. Il fut donc décidé de lancer des engins allégés de capacité réduite au 2/5 de la capacité normale. La masse au décollage n'était que de 1788 kg dont 1090 kg d'ergols. L'engin n'était pas guidé mais stabilisé par trois empennages triangulaires. Il était lancé depuis une rampe de 21 m porté par un tétrapode en treillis métallique.
Deux essais en vol furent réalisés en novembre 1952 à Hammaguir. Ils se soldèrent par des échecs, les empennages ayant été détruits au moment du passage du mur du son.

Le programme Eole fut arrêté en décembre 1952, ainsi que l'ensemble des travaux du LRBA sur l'oxygène liquide. Les ergols stockables, plus faciles à mettre en œuvre dans les missiles, seront en fait utilisés sur toutes les fusées-sondes françaises à liquides ainsi que sur les premier étages des différentes versions de Diamant.


Fusées EA
EA

Calendrier de lancement des engins EA

DateSiteVéhiculeMissionRésultats
15 Mar 1945LRNEA1941 #1TechnologieE, en vol
16 Mar 1945LRNEA1941 #2TechnologieE, sur rampe
06 Jul 1945LRNEA1941 #3Technologie 
06 Jul 1945LRNEA1941 #4Technologie 
06 Jul 1945LRNEA1941 #5TechnologieS, 60 km de portée
18 Jul 1946LRNEA1941 #6TechnologieE, sur rampe
18 Jul 1946LRNEA1941 #7TechnologieE, sur rampe
22 Nov 1952HMGEA1946 #1TechnologieE, en vol
24 Nov 1952HMGEA1946 #2TechnologieE, en vol
Notes: LRN = La Renardière, Toulon; HMG = Hammaguir


Sommet
de la page

Lanceurs
spatiaux

Véhicules
suborbitaux

Centres de
lancement

English


Adresser commentaires, corrections ou questions à Jean-Jacques Serra <JJ.Serra@wanadoo.fr>