Index

Space
Launchers

Suborbital
Vehicles

Rocket
Ranges

Français


Falstaff vehicles

The Falstaff rocket was derived from a proposed Hypersonic Research Vehicle (HRV) , Hyperion, itself based upon the UK’s largest operational solid propellant motor, Stonechat.

At the beginning of the 1960s, the Rocket Propulsion Establishment (RPE) undertook research to determine how large a rocket motor could be produced using plastic propellant technology. This research program resulted in the development of a 36-inch (914 mm) diameter motor. When the planned Hyperion vehicle required a larger motor than was currently available, in order to achieve its desired performance, the motor research was used to develop the Stonechat, itself a 36-inch booster. Three variants of the Stonechat motor (I, ‘Short Burn’ and II) were actually developed and tested.

Original Falstaff

Falstaff
Stonechat I, with 4,030 kg of plastic propellant, delivered a total impulse of 8.34 MNs in 32.3 seconds. Only one unit was flight tested as a booster for the original Falstaff vehicle. This vehicle comprised a Stonechat I motor, fitted with the four-fin assembly designed to stabilise the Hyperion HRV (4.42 m span), and a payload section with a simple concrete ballasted (1 ton) conical nosecone. Weighing about 7 tons , the vehicle was flown in October 1969 from Woomera. The first Falstaff flight proved to be successful in all respects. It was eventually designated as 'F00' in order to show its relationship to the later programme.

The Hyperion was intended to consist of a ‘Short Burn’ Stonechat 1st stage, with either a Rook or Raven 2nd stage and a potential Cuckoo 3rd stage. The ‘Short Burn’ Stonechat differed from the Stonechat 1 in its use of a faster burning propellant (17.7 s) and a slightly larger nozzle. Design studies for the Hyperion were completed when the RAE’s hypersonic free flight program was cancelled in 1970.

Operational Falstaff

At the same time that the Hyperion project was being abandoned, RAE was seeking a test-bed rocket in connection with the program that would come to be known as Chevaline. The Chevaline program, initially code-named Super Antelope, was the British Polaris missile improvement program, intended to upgrade the missile defence system with penetration aids and a greater degree of hardening. The test program required a relatively cheap launcher capable of lifting a 1,000 kg payload to an altitude in excess of 100 km. It was determined that an 8% increase in the Stonechat I motor’s total impulse would be necessary to meet the demands of the program. This performance was obtained by increasing the propellant density in the existing motor casing, thus creating the Stonechat II. The new version was loaded with 4,360 kg of propellant and delivered a total impulse of 9.61 MNs in 32.8 seconds. Falstaff
The operational Falstaff vehicle was to be an unguided fin-stabilised rocket. The experiments would be attached to the top of the Stonechat II motor via an adaptor bay, which could support a larger 54-inch (1.37 m) diameter nose section. The payload was envisaged as a controlled manoeuvrable platform from which a variety of simulated experimental sub-munitions and decoys could be dispensed, along with a Prime-body for close observations.
In 1971, the Falstaff testing program, designated CQ941, was envisaged as comprising up to 10 flights from 1974. Actually, 7 launches were carried out between 1975 and 1979. The first two proving flights (F0 and F01) were intended to demonstrate the in-flight separation sequences and the correct functioning of the payload attitude control. Falstaff F1, launched in May 1978, was planned to be the first flight carrying active experiments, payload manoeuvres and dispensing sub-payloads. Unfortunately the flight ended in the destruction of the motor and the total failure of the test. The second operational experiment, F2, that reproduced the F1 flight program with an additional payload manoeuvre, was fully successful. Flight F3 extended the experimental program by including the release of the Prime-body for observation. The vehicle performed satisfactorily, but the payload failed. The F4 experiment program was similar to F3, with more manoeuvres but no sub-payloads. It achieved most of its objectives, although the payload stabilised at an incorrect roll angle. The last vehicle, F5, had the same experiment sequence as the two previous flights, but with a maximum payload dropped. This mission was totally successful.

Stonechat-Based Sounding Rockets

In addition to their use on the Falstaff vehicle, Royal Ordnance and BAe spent many years investigating the potential use of Stonechat motors on sounding rockets and space launchers.
In 1972-1973, the Stonechat motor was suggested for two Skylark sounding rocket variants, Skylark 8 and 9. Skylark 8 would have been a 2-stage rocket with a Stonechat II 1st stage and Waxwing motor, inherited from the Black Arrow launcher, as a 2nd stage. Skylark 9 would have been a single-stage Stonechat II vehicle. Both vehicles were intended to be stabilized by three fins (a common Skylark pattern), instead of the four used on the Falstaff.
In 1980, another Stonechat-based Skylark design, Skylark 17, was produced in response to ESA's requirement for a vehicle capable of generating 15 minutes of microgravity for a payload of about 350 kg. A 2-stage vehicle consisting in a Stonechat II first stage topped by a Mage II motor was proposed. This proposed sounding rocket was not selected by ESA, losing out on the grounds of price to the US-built Castor IVB motor.

Stonechat-Based Space launchers

From the latter part of the 1970s, Royal Ordnance investigated the development of light space launch vehicles, based on the use of the Stonechat motor. Skylark 13 and Spacelark were early generic names applied to a variety of light launch vehicle configurations.
In 1987 Royal Ordnance unveiled a family of light space vehicles named Small Orbiter designed for placing small payloads into LEO. This family would be composed of four versions allowing the launch of payloads from 20 to 200 kg to a 200 km orbit. The most powerful version was the 4-stage Small Orbiter 4, which would use a cluster of four Stonechat motors as a 1st stage, a single Stonechat as 2nd stage and a shortened Stonechat (2/3) as 3rd stage. The 4th stage would be a Waxwing motor.
Although Royal Ordnance did not obtain the financial support of the BNSC in order to proceed with the development of the Small Orbiter series, in 1988 another British company, General Technology Systems (GTS), proposed a similar project named Littleo. This 4-stage vehicle would have used a cluster of six Stonechat motors in its 1st stage, and a single Stonechat as its 3rd stage. The second and fourth stages were to be powered by Italian-made solid motors, respectively an Ariane-4 booster and an Iris upper stage. Littleo was planned to be able to put a 300 kg payload into LEO, launched from the Andoya rocket range. In 1989, a new version of improved performance, was to use US-built solid motors only (Castor IV, Castor II and Star 48). The project was cancelled soon after.


Falstaff launches

DateSiteVehicleMissionResults
01 Oct 1969WOOMk.I F00Test vehicleS
09 May 1975WOOMk.II F0 Proving flightS, 119 km
19 Feb 1976WOOMk.II F01id.S, 117 km
23 May 1978WOOMk.II F1 Manoeuvres + droppingVF
15 Sep 1978WOOMk.II F2 id.S, 97 km
05 Dec 1978WOOMk.II F3 id.PF, 98 km
14 Feb 1979WOOMk.II F4 id. + prime-body releaseS, 93 km
04 Apr 1979WOOMk.II F5 id.S, 103 km
Notes: All launches from Woomera Rocket Range, Australia
S: success; VF: vehicle failure; PF: payload failure

Falstaff vehicles
Falstaff
left: original Falstaff; right: operational Falstaff


Top
of the page

Space
Launchers

Suborbital
Vehicles

Rocket
Ranges

Français


Please contact Jean-Jacques Serra <JJ.Serra@wanadoo.fr> for comments, corrections or questions

Index

Lanceurs
spatiaux

Véhicules
suborbitaux

Centres de
lancement

English


Les fusées Falstaff

La fusée Falstaff était issue d'un projet de Véhicule de Recherche Hypersonique (HRV), Hyperion, lui-même basé sur le plus gros moteur britannique à propergol solide, le Stonechat.

Au début des années 1960, le Rocket Propulsion Establishment (RPE) a entrepris un certain nombre de travaux sur la grosse propulsion solide. Ce programme de recherche a abouti au développement d'un moteur expérimental de 36 pouces de diamètre (914 mm). Quand le projet Hyperion a nécessité un moteur plus puissant que ceux qui étaient disponibles à l'époque pour atteindre les performances prévues, ces travaux ont trouvé une application avec le développement du Stonechat de 36 pouces. Trois variantes du moteur Stonechat (I, ‘Short Burn’ et II) ont finalement été développées et testées.

Falstaff original

Falstaff
Le Stonechat I, avec 4030 kg de propergol solide, délivrait une impulsion totale de 8.34 MNs en 32.3 secondes. Un seul exemplaire a été testé en vol en tant que propulseur du véhicule Falstaff original. Cette fusée était constituée d'un moteur Stonechat I, avec l'empennage cruciforme conçu pour stabiliser le HRV Hyperion (envergure de 4.42 m), et une partie charge utile, lestée d'une tonne de béton, de forme conique. Pesant environ 7 tonnes, cette fusée a été lancée en octobre 1969 de Woomera. Ce premier tir Falstaff a été un succès complet. Il a été rétrospectivement désigné 'F00' pour faire apparaître la relation avec le programme ultérieur.

Hyperion devait être constitué d'un 1er étage Stonechat ‘Short Burn’, avec un 2ème étage Rook ou Raven et éventuellement un 3ème étage Cuckoo. Le Stonechat ‘Short Burn’ différait du Stonechat I par son propergol brûlant plus rapidement (17.7 s) et une tuyère légèrement plus large. Les études de conception de l'Hyperion étaient terminées quand le programme Hypersonic Free Flight du RAE fut annulé en 1970.

Falstaff opérationnel

Au moment de l'abandon du projet Hyperion, le RAE recherchait un véhicule d'essais pour le programme qui allait être connu sous le nom de Chevaline. Le programme Chevaline, initialement désigné Super Antilope, était le programme d'amélioration des missiles Polaris britanniques. Il prévoyait le perfectionnement de leurs systèmes de défense avec des aides à la pénétration et un durcissement accru. Le programme d'essai nécessitait un engin relativement peu onéreux capable d'emporter une charge utile de 1000 kg à plus de 100 km d'altitude. Une augmentation de 8% de l'impulsion totale du moteur Stonechat I s'avérait nécessaire pour répondre aux exigences du programme. Cette performance a été obtenue en augmentant la densité du propergol sans changer l'enveloppe du moteur, créant ainsi le Stonechat II. Cette nouvelle version était chargée avec 4360 kg de propergol et délivrait une impulsion totale de 9.61 MNs en 32.8 secondes. Falstaff
Le véhicule Falstaff opérationnel devait être une fusée non guidée, stabilisée par empennage. Les expériences seraient fixées au sommet du moteur Stonechat II par une jupe qui s'adapterait au diamètre de 54 pouce (1.37 m) de l'ogive. La charge utile devait être une plate-forme manœuvrable pilotée depuis laquelle diverses sous munitions expérimentales et leurres simulés pourrait être largués, avec un corps principal permettant des observations rapprochées.
En 1971, le programme d'essais Falstaff, désigné CQ941, prévoyait jusqu'à 10 vols à partir de 1974. Finalement, 7 lancements ont été réalisés entre 1975 et 1979. Les deux premiers vols probatoires (F0 et F01) devaient valider la séquence de séparation en vol et le fonctionnement du contrôle d'attitude de la charge utile. Falstaff F1, lancé en mai 1978, devait être le premier vol emportant des équipements actifs avec manœuvres de la charge utile et largage de sous-charges. Malheureusement le vol s'est conclu par la destruction du moteur et l'échec total de l'expérience. Le deuxième essai opérationnel, F2, qui reprenait le programme de vol F1 avec une manœuvre de charge utile supplémentaire, fut complètement réussi. Le vol F3 devait étendre le programme d'essais en incluant la séparation du corps principal pour les observations. Le véhicule fonctionna correctement, mais pas la charge utile. Le programme d'essais F4 était semblable au F3 avec plus de manœuvres mais pas de largage de sous-charges. Le vol atteignit la plupart de ses objectifs bien que la charge utile se soit stabilisée à un angle de roulis incorrect. Le dernier véhicule, F5, devait réaliser la même séquence d'essais que les deux précédents, mais avec plus de sous-charges larguées. Cette mission fut totalement réussie.

Fusées-sondes utilisant des moteurs Stonechat

En plus de leur emploi sur la fusée Falstaff, Royal Ordnance et BAe ont longtemps étudié les possibilités d'utilisation des moteurs Stonechat sur des fusées-sondes et des lanceurs spatiaux.
En 1972-1973, le Stonechat a été proposé pour deux versions de fusée-sonde Skylark, les Skylark 8 et 9. Skylark 8 devait être une fusée biétage avec un 1er étage Stonechat II et un moteur Waxwing, issu du lanceur Black Arrow, comme 2e étage. Skylark 9 devait être un monoétage Stonechat II. Les deux véhicules auraient été stabilisés par trois ailerons (comme les autres Skylark), au lieu de quatre sur le Falstaff.
En 1980, un autre projet de Skylark utilisant le Stonechat, Skylark 17, a été conçu en réponse à une demande de l'ESA concernant un véhicule capable de fournir 15 minutes de microgravité pour une charge utile d'environ 350 kg. Un véhicule biétage, constitué d'un 1er étage Stonechat II surmonté par un moteur Mage II, a été proposé. Cette proposition n'a pas été retenue par l'ESA, la fusée s'avérant plus chère que le Castor IVB fabriqué aux USA.

Lanceurs spatiaux utilisant des moteurs Stonechat

A partir de la fin des années 1970, Royal Ordnance a entrepris le développement de lanceurs légers, basés sur l'utilisation de moteurs Stonechat. Skylark 13 et Spacelark furent ainsi des noms génériques relatifs à diverses configurations de lanceurs spatiaux.
En 1987, Royal Ordnance dévoila une famille de lanceurs nommés Small Orbiter conçus pour placer de petites charges utiles en orbite basse. Cette famille devait comprendre quatre variantes autorisant le lancement de charges utiles de 20 à 200 kg sur orbite à 200 km. La version la plus puissante était le quadriétage Small Orbiter 4, qui utilisait un groupe de quatre Stonechat comme 1er étage, un seul Stonechat comme 2ème étage et un Stonechat raccourci (2/3) comme 3ème étage. Le 4ème étage était un moteur Waxwing.
Bien que Royal Ordnance n'ait pas obtenu le soutien financier du BNSC pour poursuivre le développement des Small Orbiter, en 1988 une autre compagnie britannique, General Technology Systems (GTS), proposa un projet similaire nommé Littleo. Ce véhicule quadriétage aurait utilisé un groupe de six Stonechat pour son 1er étage et un Stonechat seul comme 3ème étage. Les second et quatrième étages auraient été propulsés par des moteurs d'origine italienne, respectivement un booster Ariane 4 et un étage supérieur Iris. Littleo aurait été capable d'envoyer une charge utile de 300 kg en orbite basse depuis la base d'Andoya. En 1989, une nouvelle version aux performance accrues, devait utiliser des moteurs provenant des USA (Castor IV, Castor II et Star 48). Le projet fut annulé peu après.


Lancements des fusées Falstaff

DateSiteVéhiculeMissionRésultats
01 Oct 1969WOOMk.I F00Véhicle d'essaiS
09 May 1975WOOMk.II F0 Vol probatoireS, 119 km
19 Feb 1976WOOMk.II F01id.S, 117 km
23 May 1978WOOMk.II F1 Manoeuvres + largageEV
15 Sep 1978WOOMk.II F2 id.S, 97 km
05 Dec 1978WOOMk.II F3 id.EE, 98 km
14 Feb 1979WOOMk.II F4 id. + séparation corps principalS, 93 km
04 Apr 1979WOOMk.II F5 id.S, 103 km
Notes: Tous les lancements depuis le Woomera Rocket Range, Australie
S: succès; EV: échec véhicule; EE: échec expérience

Fusées Falstaff
Falstaff
à gauche: Falstaff original; à droite: Falstaff opérationnel


Sommet
de la page

Lanceurs
spatiaux

Véhicules
suborbitaux

Centres de
lancement

English


Adresser commentaires, corrections ou questions à Jean-Jacques Serra <JJ.Serra@wanadoo.fr>