Index

Space
Launchers

Suborbital
Vehicles

Rocket
Ranges

Français


Jaguar/Jabiru vehicles

Jabiru Mk.1 Jabiru Mk.1

The Aerodynamics Department of the Royal Aircraft Establishment (RAE) in the UK and the Aerodynamics Division of the Weapons Research Establishment (WRE) in Australia agreed in 1958 to collaborate on the design and development of a rocket to carry out research in hypersonic (Mach 5 or greater) aerodynamics.
It was determined that this vehicle would be a three-stage rocket utilizing a Rook II solid-propellant motor for the first stage, a Gosling IIN for the second stage and a Lobster 1A for the final stage. Initially, the RAE was to undertake the development of a two-stage Rook-Gosling vehicle, while the WRE worked on a Gosling-Lobster combination.
Once testing of these two-stage vehicles proved satisfactory, they would be combined to form the three-stage rocket, which was initially known as Jaguar in the UK and Jabiru in Australia. Because of confusion with a US air-launched sounding rocket of the same name, as well as the British fighter aircraft, the name Jaguar was eventually dropped in favour of the Australian designation.

Developmental program
The RAE development trials commenced with single-stage and two-stage firings carried out at Aberporth. The first Rook vehicle was launched in June 1959 and the first 2-stage Rook-Gosling vehicle (known as the Leopard), with a live Gosling motor, was launched in May 1960. The last test before the initial 3-stage attempt was the Jaguar G1 launched on 17 August 1960 with a live first-stage and inert second and third stages. Within this preliminary program, one single-stage Rook motor, designated Rook 1j, was launched from Woomera for testing new aluminium alloy fins for the Rook motor.
Meanwhile, the WRE fired six Gosling-Lobster vehicles from its Woomera range between July 1959 and September 1960. On these vehicles, the Gosling was stabilized by fins, rather than the skirt that would be used on the operational three-stage vehicle.

Jabiru Mk.1
All versions of the Jabiru were based upon the use of a Rook solid motor - a fast burning variant of the Raven motor - as first stage. The Rook II used in the Jabiru Mk.1 vehicle was 5.4 m high and weighed 1170 kg with 866 kg of propellant. It delivered a total impulse of 1735 kNs in 7 sec. The second stage used a 25.4 cm Gosling IIN motor weighing 292 kg with 184 kg of propellant and delivering 400 kNs in 3.5 sec. The motor used for the third stage was named Lobster, presumably because its leading surfaces glowed red under conditions of high heating. With 26 kg of propellant, it delivered 58 kNs in 2 sec. First stage stabilization was achieved by three fixed fins, similar to those used on the Skylark sounding rocket. The second and third stages were stabilized by conical skirts.
The complete vehicle was between 11.7 and 12.0 m high and weighed about 1670 kg. If used as a sounding rocket, the Jabiru Mk.1 could carry a 9 kg payload to a height of more than 800 km.

The research program for the Jabiru Mk.1 was focused on measurements of heat transfer and pressure distribution on different nosecone shapes. In a typical flight, the main test period commenced with second-stage ignition and ended when the speed of the coasting third stage fell below Mach 4. The flight plan was devised so that this period remained in the 25-30 km altitude range.
Nine three-stage Jabiru Mk.1 were fired between December, 1960 and February, 1964. Of these, three were test vehicles, three carried RAE experiments and three carried WRE aerodynamic heating experiments. One additional firing carrying the designation 'Bonorong' was launched within the Jabiru program.

Jabiru Mk.2 Jabiru Mk.2

Jabiru Mk.2
The Jabiru's performance as well as the size of the instrumentation compartment revealed itself inadequate for the follow-up program and made the development of an improved vehicle desirable. This second-generation vehicle would have to have approximately the same performance as the Mk.1 in terms of altitude and speed, but be able to carry pay-loads up to 100 kg, thus enabling a greater variety of experiments to be carried out.
The new vehicle, designated Jabiru Mk.2 but also known as Aero-Mach, used an improved version of the Rook in its first stage. The Rook III was identical in size to its predecessor. For the second stage, the Gosling was replaced by a Goldfinch II motor, with the same diameter as the Rook and 2.16 m long. With 307 kg of propellant, it delivered a total impulse of 694 kNs in about 4 sec. The upper stage was an improved version of the Gosling, the Gosling IV, carrying 190 kg of propellant. First and second stage stabilization was achieved by fixed triple-fin configurations, with the second stage fins offset by 600 from those of the first stage. The third stage was stabilized by a combination of four wedge fins and a conical skirt.
The Jabiru Mk. 2 vehicle was 12.9 m high and weighed 2190 kg. Although not developed as an upper atmosphere research rocket, it could carry 45 kg payload to a height of approximately 540 km.

Two alternative flight plans were used :
i) The "upward firing" trajectory, in which the vehicle coasted, after Rook burn-out, to an altitude of about 9000 m. The Goldfinch and Gosling then successively ignited, accelerating the upper part to a maximum speed of 2500 m/sec near 24,000 m. After burn-out the final stage continued climbing, to reach a maximum altitude of about 290 km.
ii) The "horizontal" trajectory, in which the vehicle coasted, after Rook burn-out, until the peak of the trajectory (about 20 km) was passed and the vehicle was inclined downwards at a small angle. The Goldfinch and Gosling successively ignited, accelerating the upper stage to a speed of about 2300 m/sec. Hypersonic speed was maintained for approximately 30 sec after third stage burnout.

Ten Jabiru Mk.2 were fired between October, 1964 and April, 1970. Of these, two were test vehicles, six carried RAE experiments and two carried WRE experiments. One additional firing in April 1969 is sometimes reported and may have been a test flight to prove a new kind of launcher operational.

Despite the formal cessation of the HRV Joint Project in 1970, the RAE and WRE continued to collaborate on hypersonic research. In 1971, a series of additional experiments dealing with the aerodynamic heating of hemispherical-shaped objects was undertaken using Jabiru vehicles. They were preceded in July by the single-stage FFARV (Free Flight Aerodynamic Research Vehicle) that used a Rook motor and reached a maximum sped of Mach 5.5. Two Jabiru flights designated Jabiru J-1 and J-2 occurred at the end of 1971, associated with the FFRV project. These rockets, used to launch a payload which consisted of a 190 mm diameter hemisphere followed by a cone-cylinder weighing 104 kg, achieved Mach 8.3.

Jabiru Mk.3
In order to increase the time interval during which the Mach number could be maintained above 6, it was decided to investigate the feasibility of using a vehicle based on two Rook motors in tandem. Under the conditions described for the J-1 and J-2 flights, this new Rook-Rook vehicle would achieve Mach 8.7. Subsequently the hemispherical nose diameter for the ablation experiments was increased to 324 mm so the achievable maximum Mach number was still 8.2. The same vehicle was to be able to carry out model aerodynamic stability tests at Mach 7.3.
The Rook IIIA motor used as the first stage for the Jabiru Mk.2 was retained in the Mk.3 variant, with the same fin assembly. The second stage of the new vehicle used a Rook IIIB motor, which was virtually identical, except for an external insulation. However, its fin shape was different and were placed in-line instead of offset, as in the Mk.2
The overall vehicle with the ablation experiment payload was 12.75 m high and weighed 2640 kg.

The Jabiru Mk.3 flights were associated with two series of experiments designed by the RAE:
i) Two ablation experiments, in "upward firing" configuration, in 1973. They intended to subject a recoverable 324 mm diameter hemispherical nose cap to hypersonic flight conditions,
ii) Three flights, in "horizontal trajectory" configuration in 1974, to measure the aerodynamic stability properties of a separating 123 kg free-flight model at Mach numbers up to at least 7.

1974 saw the end of the Jabiru program. Across its lifespan of some 15 years, the data gathered from Jabiru firings contributed to the larger body of data on hypersonic aerodynamics and ablation effects that was amassed at Woomera.

Note : Rook started its career as a motor for projecting models of supersonic aircrafts. The first launches occurred in June 1959 from Aberporth. It was then used as booster for the two-stage Leopard rocket, the upper stage being Goslings. Rook was fired 70 times altogether, in 65 flights and 16 different vehicle design. It was also proposed as booster for the Skylark 14 and 15 sounding rockets, but these projects were never born.

Tables
a/ Jaguar/Jabiru rockets evolution
b/ Rook-based rockets launches from Woomera
c/ Rook-based rockets launches from Aberporth
Listing c from John Harlow's data

Links
Australian Space Research Institute (ASRI) - Australian Launch vehicles


Jaguar/Jabiru rockets evolution

VersionYear1st stage2nd stage3rd stage
11960Rook IIGosling IILobster I
21964Rook IIIAGoldfinch IIGosling IV
31973Rook IIIARook IIIB-


Gosling-Lobster rockets launches from Woomera
Gosling-Lobster Gosling-Lobster
DateSiteVehicleMissionResults
09 Jul 1959WOOGosling-Lobster  
21 Aug 1959WOOGosling-Lobster  
18 Nov 1959WOOGosling-Lobster  
02 Jun 1960WOOGosling-Lobster  
10 Aug 1960WOOGosling-Lobster  
22 Sep 1960WOOGosling-Lobster  

Rook-based rockets launches from Woomera

DateSiteVehicleMissionResults
13 Oct 1960WOORookRook 1jS
15 Dec 1960WOOJaguarJaguar 1, DevelopmentS
21 Apr 1961WOOJaguarJaguar 2, DevelopmentS
26 Jul 1961WOOJaguarJaguar 3F
23 Nov 1961WOOJaguarJaguar 4, DevelopmentS
04 Apr 1962WOOJaguarJaguar 5S
26 Jun 1962WOOJaguarJaguar 6S
?? Sep 1962WOO?Bonorong 1 
24 Aug 1962WOOJaguarJaguar 7S
27 Mar 1963WOOJaguarJaguar 8S
12 Feb 1964WOOJaguarJaguar 9S
02 Oct 1964WOOJabiru 2 (2-st)Jabiru 201, TestS
25 Aug 1965WOOJabiru 2Jabiru 202, UK-2F MaikaparPS
10 Aug 1966WOOJabiru 2Jabiru 203, UK-D ConeS
10 Nov 1966WOOJabiru 2 (2-st)Jabiru 204, TestS
?? May 1967WOORookRook (IIIA) 
24 Aug 1967WOORookOberon 1, ModelPS
07 Dec 1967WOOJabiru 2Jabiru 205, UK-E ParaboloidS
18 Jul 1968WOOJabiru 2Jabiru 206, UK-2H Double coneS
25 Oct 1968WOORookOberon 2, ModelS
01 May 1969WOOJabiru 2Jabiru 207, UK-2Q MaikaparPS
16 Jul 1969WOOJabiru 2Jabiru 208, WRE, AATVS
16 Oct 1969WOOJabiru 2Jabiru 209, UK-2G, Slab-delta wingS
26 Nov 1969WOORookOberon 3, ModelS
01 Apr 1970WOOJabiru 2Jabiru 210, WRE, Double-deltaS
?? Jul 1971WOORookFFARVS
20 Oct 1971WOOJabiru 2Jabiru J-1, AblationS
04 Dec 1971WOOJabiru 2Jabiru J-2, AblationS
14 Nov 1973WOOJabiru 3Jabiru J-3, AblationS
06 Dec 1973WOOJabiru 3Jabiru J-4, AblationF
05 Sep 1974WOOJabiru 3Jabiru J-5, ModelS
31 Oct 1974WOOJabiru 3Jabiru J-6, ModelS
20 Nov 1974WOOJabiru 3Jabiru J-7, ModelS

Rook-based rockets launches from Aberporth

DateSiteVehicleMissionResults
29 Jun 1959ABPRook F
07 Jul 1959ABPRook F
22 Oct 1959ABPLeopard (1-st)Leopard 2bF
02 Jan 1960ABPLeopard (1-st)Leopard 1bF
07 Jan 1960ABPLeopard (1-st)Leopard 1cF
23 Feb 1960ABPLeopard (1-st)Leopard 1dS
29 Apr 1960ABPLeopard (1-st)Leopard 1eS
29 Apr 1960ABPLeopard (1-st)Leopard 1fS
05 May 1960ABPLeopard (1-st)Leopard 1gS
27 May 1960ABPLeopardLeopard 3 
14 Jul 1960ABPRookRook 1h 
12 Jul 1960ABPLeopardLeopard 4 
17 Aug 1960ABPJaguar (1-st)Jaguar G1S
17 Nov 1960ABPRookRook 1iS
26 Apr 1961ABPRookRook 1kS
20 Jul 1961ABPLeopardLeopard 5S
24 Aug 1961ABPRookRanger 23 
24 Aug 1961ABPRookRanger 
19 Jan 1962ABPRookRanger 26 
30 Nov 1962ABPLeopardLeopard 6S
10 Dec 1964ABPRookRanger 28 
12 May 1965ABPRookLynx 4 
23 Jul 1965ABPRookRanger 30 
11 Jul 1967ABPRookLynx 6 
07 Sep 1967ABPRookRanger 32 
03 Jul 1969ABPRookLynx 5 
05 Feb 1970ABPRookLynx 8 
22 Jun 1971ABPRookOrion 23 
03 Jul 1971ABPRookLynx 7 
22 Jul 1972ABPRookBadger 5 
Notes: ABP: Aberporth, UK; WOO: Woomera, Australia


Top
of the page

Space
Launchers

Suborbital
Vehicles

Rocket
Ranges

Français


Please contact Jean-Jacques Serra <JJ.Serra@wanadoo.fr> for comments, corrections or questions

Index

Lanceurs
spatiaux

Véhicules
suborbitaux

Centres de
lancement

English


Les fusées Jaguar/Jabiru

Jaguar Mk.1 Jabiru Mk.1

Le Département Aérodynamique du Royal Aircraft Establishment (RAE) britannique et la Division Aérodynamique du Weapons Research Establishment (WRE) australien décidèrent en 1958 de collaborer sur un programme de fusée pour recherches hypersoniques (Mach 5 ou plus).
Ce véhicule devait être une fusée tri-étage utilisant un propulseur Rook II comme premier étage, un Gosling IIN comme deuxième étage et un Lobster 1A comme étage supérieur. Dans un premier temps, le RAE devait entreprendre le développement d'un engin bi-étage Rook-Gosling, pendant que le WRE travaillait sur une combinaison Gosling-Lobster.
Après avoir été testés et validés, ces engins bi-étages furent combinés pour former la fusée tri-étage initialement désignée Jaguar au Royaume Uni et Jabiru en Australie. En raison de confusions possibles avec une fusée américaine lancée d'avion ainsi qu'un avion de combat britannique portant tous deux le même nom, l'appellation Jaguar a finalement été abandonnée au profit de la désignation australienne.

Programme de développement
Les essais de développement au RAE ont commencé avec des tirs mono- et bi-étage réalisés à Aberporth. Le premier Rook a été lancé en juin 1959 et le premier bi-étage Rook-Gosling (connu sous le nom de Léopard), avec un moteur Gosling actif, a été lancé en mai 1960. Le dernier test précédant le premier vol du véhicule tri-étage fut le Jaguar G1 lancé le 17 août 1960 avec un premier étage actif et deux étages supérieurs inertes. Au cours de ce programme préliminaire, un Rook mono-étage, désigné Rook 1j, a également été lancé de Woomera pour tester un empennage en alliage d'aluminium et non de magnésium comme sur les modèles précédents.
Pendant ce temps, le WRE lançait six engins Gosling-Lobster depuis Woomera entre juillet 1959 et septembre 1960. Sur ces engins, le Gosling était stabilisé par un empennage au lieu d'une jupe comme prévu sur le véhicule opérationnel.

Jabiru Mk.1
Toutes les versions du Jabiru étaient basées sur l'utilisation du moteur Rook comme premier étage, une version à combustion rapide du Raven de la fusée Skylark. Le Rook II utilisé sur le Jabiru Mk.1 mesurait 5.4 m de long et pesait 1170 kg avec 866 kg de poudre. Il délivrait une impulsion totale de 1735 kNs en 7 sec. Le deuxième étage utilisait un Gosling IIN de 25.4 centimètres de diamètre pesant 292 kg avec 184 kg de poudre et délivrant 400 kNs en 3.5 sec. Le moteur utilisé pour le troisième étage a été appelé Lobster (Homard), vraissemblablement parce que ses parties avant viraient au rouge sous l'effet de l'échauffement aérothermique. Avec 26 kg de poudre, il délivrait 58 kNs en 2 sec. La stabilisation du premier étage était obtenue par trois ailerons fixes semblable à ceux utilisés sur Skylark. Les deuxième et troisième étages étaient stabilisés par des jupes coniques.
Le véhicule complet mesurait entre 11.7 et 12.0 m haut et pesait environ 1670 kg. Utilisé en tant que fusée-sonde, le Jabiru Mk.1 aurait pu emporter une charge utile de 9 kg à une altitude de plus de 800 km.

Le programme de recherches du Jabiru Mk.1 était destiné à des mesures de transfert de chaleur et de distribution de pression sur différentes formes d'ogive. Au cours d'un vol nominal, la période de l'essai proprement dit commençait avec l'allumage du deuxième étage et finissait quand la vitesse du troisième étage en vol balistique passait au-dessous de Mach 4. Le plan de vol était tel que cette partie de la trajectoire restait dans la gamme 25-30 km d'altitude.
Neuf Jabiru Mk.1 tri-étages ont été tirés entre décembre 1960 et février 1964. Parmi ceux-ci, trois étaient des engins de mise au point, trois emportaient des expériences du RAE et trois emportaient des expériences d'échauffement aérodynamique du WRE. Un tir supplémentaire portant la désignation Bonorong aurait été réalisé dans le cadre du programme Jabiru.

Jabiru Mk.2 Jabiru Mk.2

Jabiru Mk.2
Le niveau de performance du Jabiru, ainsi que le volume disponible pour l'instrumentation se révélèrent inadaptés pour la suite du programme et le développement d'un engin amélioré s'avéra indispensable. Ce véhicule de deuxième génération devait avoir à peu près les mêmes performances que le Mk.1 en termes d'altitude et de vitesse, mais être capable d'emporter des charges jusqu'à 100 kg et donc permettre une plus grande variété d'expériences.
Le nouvel engin, désigné Jabiru Mk.2 mais aussi connu sous le nom d'Aero Mach, utilisait une version améliorée du Rook comme premier étage, le Rook III de mêmes dimensions que son prédécesseur. Pour le deuxième étage, le Gosling était remplacé par un moteur Goldfinch II de même diamètre que le Rook et mesurant 2.16 m long. Avec 307 kg de poudre, il délivrait une impulsion totale de 694 kNs en 4 sec environ. L'étape supérieure était une version améliorée du Gosling, le Gosling IV, chargé de 190 kg de poudre. La stabilisation des premier et deuxième étages était obtenue par une configuration à trois ailerons fixes décalés de 60° les uns par rapport aux autres. Le troisième étage était stabilisé par une combinaison de quatre ailerons et d'une jupe conique.
Le véhicule Jabiru Mk. 2 mesurait 12.9 m haut et pesait 2190 kg. Bien que n'ayant pas été conçu en tant que fusée-sonde, il aurait pu emporter une charge utile de 45 kg à environ 540 km d'altitude.

Deux types de plans de vol ont été utilisés:
i) La trajectoire en "tir vers le haut" dans laquelle l'engin, après extinction du Rook, monte en vol balistique jusqu'à une altitude d'environ 9000 m. Les moteurs Goldfinch et Gosling sont alors successivement mis à feu, accélérant la partie supérieure jusqu'à une vitesse de 2500 m/sec à près de 24000 m d'altitude. Après extinction, l'étage supérieur continue son ascension jusqu'aux environs de 290 km d'altitude.
ii) La trajectoire en "tir horizontal" dans laquelle le véhicule, après extinction du Rook, monte jusqu'au sommet de la trajectoire balistique (aux alentours de 20 km) où il est été incliné vers le bas selon un petit angle. Les moteurs Goldfinch et Gosling sont successivement mis à feu, accélérant la partie supérieure jusqu'à une vitesse d'environ 2300 m/sec. La vitesse hypersonique est maintenue pendant une trentaine de secondes après extinction du troisième étage.

Dix Jabiru Mk.2 ont été tirés entre octobre 1964 et avril 1970. Parmi ceux-ci, deux étaient des engins de mise au point, six emportaient des expériences du RAE et deux des expériences du WRE. Selon certaines sources, un vol supplémentaire aurait eu lieu en avril 1969, qui pourrait avoir été un tir destiné à tester une nouvelle rampe de lancement.

Bien que le HRV Joint Projet ait officiellement pris fin en 1970, le RAE et WRE ont continué à collaborer sur le thème des recherches hypersoniques. En 1971, une série d'expériences supplémentaires portant sur l'échauffement aérodynamique d'objets de forme hémisphérique a été entreprise en utilisant des fusées Jabiru. Ils furent précédés en juillet par le FFARV mono-étage (Free Flight Aerodynamic Research Vehicle) qui utilisait un moteur Rook et a atteint une vitesse maximale de Mach 5.5. Deux vols Jabiru, désignés J1 et J2, ont eu lieu fin 1971 dans le cadre du projet FFRV. Ces fusées, qui emportaient une charge utile de 104 kg consistant en un hémisphère de 190 mm de diamètre suivie par une partie cylindro-conique, atteignirent Mach 8.3.

Jabiru Mk.3
Afin d'augmenter la durée des essais pendant lesquels la vitesse devait être maintenue au-dessus de Mach 6, l'étude d'un véhicule basé sur l'emploi de deux moteurs Rook en tandem fut entreprise. Dans les conditions définies pour les vols J1 et J2, ce nouvel engin Rook-Rook pouvait atteindre Mach 8.7. Le diamètre du nez hémisphérique des expériences d'ablation fut alors augmenté jusqu'à 324 mm, la vitesse maximale atteignant encore Mach 8.2. Le même véhicule devait être capable d'emporter une maquette d'essai de stabilité aérodynamique à Mach 7.3.
Le moteur Rook IIIA utilisé comme premier étage sur le Jabiru Mk.2 fut retenu dans la version Mk.3, avec le même empennage. Le deuxième étage du nouvel engin utilisait un moteur Rook IIIB quasiment identique à l'exception d'une isolation externe supplémentaire. Cependant, son empennage était différent et les ailerons placés en ligne au lieu d'être décalés comme dans le Mk.2.
Le véhicule complet avec une charge de type expérience d'ablation était haut de 12.75 m et pesait 2640 kg.

Les vols de Jabiru Mk.3 ont concerné deux séries d'expériences conçues par le RAE:
i) Deux expériences d'ablation, en configuration de "tir vers le haut", en 1973. Elles étaient destinées à soumettre un nez hémisphérique récupérable de 324 mm de diamètre aux conditions de vol hypersonique,
ii) Trois vols en configuration "tir horizontal", pour étudier la stabilité aérodynamique d'un modèle de vol largable de 123 kg jusqu'à au moins Mach 7.

L'année 1974 a vu la fin du programme Jabiru. Pendant quelques 15 années, les résultats obtenus lors des tirs Jabiru ont contribué à la base de données sur l'aérodynamique hypersonique et les effets de l'ablation qui ont été amassés à Woomera.

Note : Le Rook a démarré sa carrière en tant que propulseur pour maquettes d'avions supersoniques. Les premiers tirs ont eu lieu à Aberporth en juin 1959. Il fut ensuite utilisé comme premier étage de la fusée Léopard avec un moteur Gosling comme étage supérieur. En tout, il a été tiré à 70 exemplaires au cours de 65 lancements dans 16 configurations différentes. Il a également été proposé comme booster des fusées-sondes Skylark 14 et 15, mais ces projets n'ont pas été réalisés.

Tableaux
a/ Evolution des fusées Jaguar/Jabiru
b/ Lancements depuis Woomera de fusées à premier étage Rook
c/ Lancements depuis Aberporth de fusées à premier étage Rook
Liste c d'après les données de John Harlow

Liens
Australian Space Research Institute (ASRI) - Australian Launch vehicles


Evolution des fusées Jaguar

VersionPremier tir1er étage2me étage3me étage
11960Rook IIGosling IILobster I
21964Rook IIIAGoldfinch IIGosling IV
31973Rook IIIARook IIIB-


Lancements depuis Woomera de fusées Gosling-Lobster
Gosling-Lobster Gosling-Lobster
DateSiteVehicleMissionResults
09 Jul 1959WOOGosling-Lobster  
21 Aug 1959WOOGosling-Lobster  
18 Nov 1959WOOGosling-Lobster  
02 Jun 1960WOOGosling-Lobster  
10 Aug 1960WOOGosling-Lobster  
22 Sep 1960WOOGosling-Lobster  

Lancements depuis Woomera de fusées à premier étage Rook

DateSiteVéhiculeMissionRésultats
13 Oct 1960WOORookRook 1jS
15 Dec 1960WOOJaguarJaguar 1, DéveloppementS
21 Apr 1961WOOJaguarJaguar 2, DéveloppementS
26 Jul 1961WOOJaguarJaguar 3F
23 Nov 1961WOOJaguarJaguar 4, DéveloppementS
04 Apr 1962WOOJaguarJaguar 5S
26 Jun 1962WOOJaguarJaguar 6S
?? Sep 1962WOO?Bonorong 1 
24 Aug 1962WOOJaguarJaguar 7S
27 Mar 1963WOOJaguarJaguar 8S
12 Feb 1964WOOJaguarJaguar 9S
02 Oct 1964WOOJabiru 2 (2-st)Jabiru 201, TestS
25 Aug 1965WOOJabiru 2Jabiru 202, UK-2F MaikaparPS
10 Aug 1966WOOJabiru 2Jabiru 203, UK-D CôneS
10 Nov 1966WOOJabiru 2 (2-st)Jabiru 204, TestS
?? May 1967WOORookRook (IIIA) 
24 Aug 1967WOORookOberon 1, ModèlePS
07 Dec 1967WOOJabiru 2Jabiru 205, UK-E ParaboloïdeS
18 Jul 1968WOOJabiru 2Jabiru 206, UK-2H Double côneS
25 Oct 1968WOORookOberon 2, ModèleS
01 May 1969WOOJabiru 2Jabiru 207, UK-2Q MaikaparPS
16 Jul 1969WOOJabiru 2Jabiru 208, WRE, AATVS
16 Oct 1969WOOJabiru 2Jabiru 209, UK-2G, Aile plan-deltaS
26 Nov 1969WOORookOberon 3, ModèleS
01 Apr 1970WOOJabiru 2Jabiru 210, WRE, Double-deltaS
?? Jul 1971WOORookFFARVS
20 Oct 1971WOOJabiru 2Jabiru J-1, AblationS
04 Dec 1971WOOJabiru 2Jabiru J-2, AblationS
14 Nov 1973WOOJabiru 3Jabiru J-3, AblationS
06 Dec 1973WOOJabiru 3Jabiru J-4, AblationF
05 Sep 1974WOOJabiru 3Jabiru J-5, ModèleS
31 Oct 1974WOOJabiru 3Jabiru J-6, ModèleS
20 Nov 1974WOOJabiru 3Jabiru J-7, ModèleS

Lancements depuis Aberporth de fusées à premier étage Rook

DateSiteVéhiculeMissionRésultats
29 Jun 1959ABPRook F
07 Jul 1959ABPRook F
22 Oct 1959ABPLeopard (1-st)Leopard 2bF
02 Jan 1960ABPLeopard (1-st)Leopard 1bF
07 Jan 1960ABPLeopard (1-st)Leopard 1cF
23 Feb 1960ABPLeopard (1-st)Leopard 1dS
29 Apr 1960ABPLeopard (1-st)Leopard 1eS
29 Apr 1960ABPLeopard (1-st)Leopard 1fS
05 May 1960ABPLeopard (1-st)Leopard 1gS
27 May 1960ABPLeopardLeopard 3 
14 Jul 1960ABPRookRook 1h 
12 Jul 1960ABPLeopardLeopard 4 
17 Aug 1960ABPJaguar (1-st)Jaguar G1S
17 Nov 1960ABPRookRook 1iS
26 Apr 1961ABPRookRook 1kS
20 Jul 1961ABPLeopardLeopard 5S
24 Aug 1961ABPRookRanger 23 
24 Aug 1961ABPRookRanger 
19 Jan 1962ABPRookRanger 26 
30 Nov 1962ABPLeopardLeopard 6S
10 Dec 1964ABPRookRanger 28 
12 May 1965ABPRookLynx 4 
23 Jul 1965ABPRookRanger 30 
11 Jul 1967ABPRookLynx 6 
07 Sep 1967ABPRookRanger 32 
03 Jul 1969ABPRookLynx 5 
05 Feb 1970ABPRookLynx 8 
22 Jun 1971ABPRookOrion 23 
03 Jul 1971ABPRookLynx 7 
22 Jul 1972ABPRookBadger 5 
Notes: ABP: Aberporth, UK; WOO: Woomera, Australie


Sommet
de la page

Lanceurs
spatiaux

Véhicules
suborbitaux

Centres de
lancement

English


Adresser commentaires, corrections ou questions à Jean-Jacques Serra <JJ.Serra@wanadoo.fr>