Index

Space
Launchers

Suborbital
Vehicles

Rocket
Ranges

Français


MAXUS rockets

Maxus (SSC) Maxus

The MAXUS programme, which started in 1989, is the fruit of a collaboration between SSC (Sweden) and DASA, ex-MBB/ERNO (Germany). It is a development of the microgravity experiments programmes MASER and TEXUS, carried out by the two companies. The MAXUS payload weighs approximately 720 kg, divided into six to eight independent modules, and the duration of nominal microgravity reaches 12 minutes and 40 seconds. Maxus

The vehicle used for these experiments measures 15.5 m high and weighs 12.3 t at takeoff; it is the largest sounding rocket successfully launched from Western Europe. This rocket is propelled by a Thiokol Castor 4B motor, 1 m in diameter, which delivers an average 450 kN thrust during 63 seconds. This version of Castor 4 is equipped with a swiveling nozzle which allows the rocket piloting.

The first flight failed in May 1991, but the payload was recovered after culminating at 154 km of altitude. It was successfully launched again the following year, for the MAXUS-1B mission. The second payload was launched only in 1995, third in 1998.


MAXUS program launches

DateSiteVehicleMissionResults
08 May 1991KIRCastor 4BMAXUS 1EV (154 km)
08 Nov 1992KIRCastor 4BMAXUS 1BS (717 km)
29 Nov 1995KIRCastor 4BMAXUS 2S (706 km)
24 Nov 1998KIRCastor 4BMAXUS 3S (713 km)
09 Apr 2001KIRCastor 4BMAXUS 4S (705 km)
01 Apr 2003KIRCastor 4BMAXUS 5S (700 km)
22 Nov 2004KIRCastor 4BMAXUS 6S (706 km)
Notes: All launches from ESRANGE, Sweden

 


External resources
Swedish Space Corp. - Maxus


Top
of the page

Space
Launchers

Suborbital
Vehicles

Rocket
Ranges

Français


Please contact Jean-Jacques Serra <JJ.Serra@wanadoo.fr> for comments, corrections or questions

Index

Lanceurs
spatiaux

Véhicules
suborbitaux

Centres de
lancement

English


Les expériences MAXUS

Maxus (SSC) Maxus

Le programme MAXUS, qui a démarré en 1989, est le fruit d'une collaboration entre les sociétés SSC (Suède) et DASA, ex-MBB/ERNO (Allemagne). Il s'agit d'un développement des programmes d'expériences en microgravité MASER et TEXUS menés par les deux sociétés. La charge utile de MAXUS est d'environ 720 kg, répartis en six à huit modules indépendants, et la durée de microgravité nominale atteint 12 minutes et 40 secondes. Maxus

Le véhicule utilisé pour ces expériences mesure 15,5 m de haut et pèse 12,3 t au décollage; c'est la plus grosse fusée-sonde lancée de Kiruna. Cette fusée est propulsée par un moteur américain Thiokol Castor 4B de 1 m de diamètre, qui délivre une poussée moyenne de 450 kN pendant 63 secondes. Cette version du Castor 4 est dotée d'une tuyère orientable qui autorise le pilotage de la fusée.

Le premier vol échoua en mai 1991, mais la charge utile fut récupérée après avoir culminé à 154 km d'altitude. Elle fut relancée avec succès l'année suivante au cours de l'expérience MAXUS-1B. La seconde charge ne fut lancée qu'en 1995, la troisième en 1998.


Lancements du programme MAXUS

DateSiteVéhiculeMissionRésultats
08 May 1991KIRCastor 4BMAXUS 1EV (154 km)
08 Nov 1992KIRCastor 4BMAXUS 1BS (717 km)
29 Nov 1995KIRCastor 4BMAXUS 2S (706 km)
24 Nov 1998KIRCastor 4BMAXUS 3S (713 km)
09 Apr 2001KIRCastor 4BMAXUS 4S (705 km)
01 Apr 2003KIRCastor 4BMAXUS 5S (700 km)
22 Nov 2004KIRCastor 4BMAXUS 6S (706 km)
Notes: Tous les lancements depuis l'ESRANGE, Suède

 


External resources
Swedish Space Corp. - Maxus


Sommet
de la page

Lanceurs
spatiaux

Véhicules
suborbitaux

Centres de
lancement

English


Adresser commentaires, corrections ou questions à Jean-Jacques Serra <JJ.Serra@wanadoo.fr>