Index

Space
Launchers

Suborbital
Vehicles

Ballistic
Missiles

Rocket
Ranges

Français


MD 620 MD620

MD 620


In September 1962, the Israeli government placed an order for a pre-study of a ballistic missile to two companies Sud Aviation and Dassault. This missile was to be capable of sending a 750 kg military payload to a distance of 235 to 500 km. It had to be usable by all weather from fixed (8 missiles/hour) or mobile (4 missiles/hour) sites with a launch reaction time of about 2 hours.
Finally, Generale Aeronautique Marcel Dassault (GAMD) was kept and the contract "Operation Jericho" was then signed on April 26, 1963. Twenty-five experimental missiles MD 620 (5 vehicles with dummy second stage and 20 two-stage missiles) had to be manufactured as well as the launching and control equipments. At the end of the tests, the series produced missiles had to be manufactured in Israel. MD 620

The lead contractor of the MD 620 program was Dassault company with, as main subcontractors, Nord Aviation (with SEPR and Service des Poudres) for the solid motors and SAGEM for the guidance. The missiles production was achieved - from May 1964 to January 1969 - in the Dassault factory in Martignas-sur-Jalle in presence of an Israeli team.
The 6.7 t missile, 13.4-m long and 0.80-m in diameter, was composed of two solid stages. The motors (NA-804 and NA-805) were derived from the NA-803 motor of the VE 111 Topaze rocket. The first stage, piloted by four revolving nozzles, was identical to the Topaze one. The second, equipped with a fixed nozzle only, was piloted by four aerodynamic control fins. During the powered phase, steering was controlled by an inertial navigation system combined with a digital computer that allowed reaching a precision of 1/1000 of the range.
The first launch of a single-stage MD 620 (Monobloc) was achieved from a TEL vehicle (Carrier-Erector Launcher) at Levant island on February 1st, 1965. December 23, 1965, the first launch of the 2-stage version (Bidasse) was a failure due to the guidance system but the second one was a success with a range of 450 km (March 16, 1966). Fall September 1968, 16 launches had been achieved with 10 complete successes, 3 partial successes and 3 failures.

The Israeli attack of the Beirut airport, December 29, 1968, triggered a French embargo on the weapons for Israel. In January 1969, whereas it remained seven tests flights to do, the MD 620 program was interrupted. Dassault delivered the missiles that were finished and the spare parts for other missiles that were assembled in Israel. May 2, 1969, the Dassault company and the government of Israel signed a memorandum stopping the research and test program. Israel pursued the development of this missile under the name Jericho 1, of which about hundred units would have been manufactured between 1970 and 1980.


Please contact the author for comments, corrections or questions

Index

Lanceurs
spatiaux

Véhicules
suborbitaux

Missiles
balistiques

Centres de
lancement

English


MD 620 MD620

MD 620


En septembre 1962, le gouvernement israélien passa commande d'une préétude pour un projet de missile balistique avec les sociétés Sud Aviation et Dassault. Ce missile devait être capable d'envoyer une charge militaire de 750 kg à une distance de 235 à 500 km. Il devait pouvoir être tiré par tous temps à partir de sites fixes (8 missiles/heure) ou mobiles (4 missiles/heure) avec un délai de mise en oeuvre d'environ 2 heures.
Finalement, la Générale Aéronautique Marcel Dassault (GAMD) fut retenue et le contrat "Opération Jéricho" fut ensuite signé le 26 avril 1963. Vingt-cinq missiles expérimentaux MD 620 (5 missiles avec second étage inerte et 20 à deux étages actifs) devaient être réalisés ainsi que les matériels de mise en oeuvre. A l'issue des essais, les missiles de série devaient être fabriqués en Israël. MD 620

La maîtrise d'oeuvre du programme MD 620 était assurée par la société Dassault, avec comme principaux sous-traitants, Nord Aviation (avec la SEPR et le Service des Poudres) pour les propulseurs et la SAGEM pour le guidage. L'assemblage des missiles fut réalisé - de mai 1964 à janvier 1969 - dans l'usine Dassault de Martignas-sur-Jalle en présence d'une équipe israélienne.
Le missile de 6.7 t, qui mesurait 13.4 m de long pour 0.80 m de diamètre, comportait deux étages à propulsion solide. Ces propulseurs (NA-804 et NA-805) étaient dérivés du moteur NA-803 de la fusée VE 111 Topaze. Le premier étage, piloté par quatre tuyères rotatives, était identique à celui de Topaze. Le second, qui ne comportait qu'une seule tuyère fixe, était piloté par quatre gouvernes aérodynamiques. Le guidage pendant la phase propulsée était assuré par une centrale inertielle associée à un calculateur numérique qui permettait d'atteindre une précision de 1/1000 de la portée.
Le premier tir d'un MD 620 monoétage (Monobloc), fut réalisé depuis un véhicule TEL (Transporteur-Erecteur-Lanceur) sur l'île du Levant le 1er février 1965. Le 23 décembre 1965, le premier tir en version biétage (Bidasse) fut un échec dû au système de guidage mais le deuxième fut un succès le16 mars 1966, avec une portée de 450 km. Fin septembre 1968, 16 tirs avaient été réalisés avec 10 succès complets, 3 succès partiels et 3 échecs.

L'attaque israélienne de l'aéroport de Beyrouth, le 29 décembre 1968, déclencha un embargo français total sur les armes à destination d'Israël. En janvier 1969, alors qu'il restait 7 tirs d'essais à effectuer, le programme MD 620 fut interrompu. Dassault livra les engins qui étaient terminés et des pièces détachées pour d'autres engins qui furent assemblés en Israël. Le 2 mai 1969, la société Dassault et l'Etat d'Israël signèrent un mémorandum d'arrêt des études et des essais du programme. Israël continua le développement du missile dont une centaine d'exemplaires auraient été fabriqués entre 1970 et 1980 sous l'appellation Jéricho 1.


Adresser commentaires, corrections ou questions à l'auteur