Index

Space
Launchers

Suborbital
Vehicles

Rocket
Ranges

Français


San Marco Scout

In 1977, the university of Rome and the San Marco Project officials proposed to develop an improved version of the Scout launcher, used several times by this team. The most powerful version at that time, Scout F1, was capable of orbiting approximately 200 kg at 550 km altitude from the Italian base off the Kenyan coast. It comprised four solid motors (Algol IIIA, Castor IIA, Antares IIB and Altair IIIA), measured 22 meters high and weighed 21 tons. The G1 version, introduced in 1979, replaced the Antares IIB motor with an Antares IIIA which enhanced the payload mass to 220 kg.
The San Marco Scout Project of the university of Rome consisted of using a "Santa Rita" booster, formed by a cluster of four Algol motors, 1.14 m in diameter, fixed to the original first stage. The cluster became the 1st stage, the central Algol the 2nd, Castor the 3rd and Antares the 4th stage on which was installed the payload of almost 600 kg that could be orbited at 550 km. By adding the Altair motor as fifth stage, the rocket could take 120 kg to geostationary orbit.

Since the beginning of the 80s, the BPD company made an internal study of the possibility of developing a small launcher using available solid motors, i.e. the Ariane boosters then under development, and motors of the Alfa missile cancelled in 1977. After having studied various configurations, BPD concentrated from 1986 on the SB7 concept (Solid Booster 7), a 4-stage solid rocket. The 1st stage would use four Ariane 4 boosters with swivelling nozzles, surrounding the 2nd stage using another Ariane 4 booster, surmounted by the 3rd stage using an Ariane 3 booster. The 4th stage was to be derived from the IRIS motor, initially conceived as an upper stage for launching Italian satellites from the Shuttle. The SB7 launcher would have measured 23 m in height and weighed approximately 50 t, and would have been able to launch a 500 kg payload to orbit at 500 km altitude from the San Marco platform.

In 1987, the two projects were regrouped, and SNIA-BPD and LTV began a common study of a launcher named Eagle Scout, capable of orbiting a payload of about 520 kg, double that of the Scout, for a cost equal to 150% of the American launcher. This project was to upgrade the classic Scout by adding two boosters derived from that of Ariane 3 with a modified propellant composition to obtain a variable thrust. These new boosters constituting the 1st stage were fired before the central body keeping the Algol motor that then became the 2nd stage. The 4th stage of the Scout G1 was replaced by the European AKM Mage 2.
The Eagle Scout, renamed Scout 2 in 1988, was to be used initially, from the San Marco range, for the TOPAS German-Italian project for launching recoverable ballistic capsules destined for European microgravity experiments.

San Marco Scout test flight Scout 2

By 1990, the CIPE (Comitato Interministeriale per la Programmazione Economica) approved project San Marco Scout by financing the modernization of the San Marco platform and the development of the Scout 2 launcher. Several decisions were made:
- the San Marco range would be equipped with new tracking radars, telemetering reception and logistic support for the implementation of the Scout 2
- the Scout 2 would keep the three first stages of Scout G1 but replacing the upper motor with a Mage 2 and by adding two Ariane solid boosters. The fairing would be enlarged to 1.35 m diameter (instead of 1.067 m for the largest G1 shroud)
- its launcher preparation would be in parallel with the development of a recoverable capsule named Carina (Capsula di Rientro Non Abitata) adapted to use the Scout 2.

For several reasons this program, that expected a first launch of Carina in 1992, has not been completed. A unique flight test was undertaken on 19 March 1992 from Salto di Quirra, with the central motor of the new launcher - an Ariane 4 PAP with swivelling nozzle - and two dummy boosters.

Links
University of Roma - San Marco Project


Top
of the page

Space
Launchers

Suborbital
Vehicles

Rocket
Ranges

Français


Please contact Jean-Jacques Serra <JJ.Serra@wanadoo.fr> for comments, corrections or questions

Index

Lanceurs
spatiaux

Véhicules
suborbitaux

Centres de
lancement

English


San Marco Scout

En 1977, l'université de Rome et les responsables du Projet San Marco ont proposé de développer une version améliorée du lanceur américain Scout utilisé à plusieurs reprises par cette équipe. La version la plus puissante à l'époque, Scout F1, était capable de satelliser environ 200 kg en orbite à 550 km d'altitude depuis la base italienne du Kenya. Elle était formée de quatre étages à poudre (Algol IIIA, Castor IIA, Antares IIB et Altair IIIA), mesurait 22 mètres de haut et pesait 21 tonnes. La version Scout G1 introduite en 1979 en remplaçant le moteur Antares IIB par un Antares IIIA devait porter la masse satellisable à 220 kg.
Le projet San Marco Scout de l'université de Rome consistait à recourir à un booster "Santa Rita", formé par un faisceau de quatre moteurs Algol de 1.14 m de diamètre, fixés au premier étage Algol d'origine. Le faisceau devenait le 1er étage, l'Algol central le 2nd étage, Castor le 3ème étage et Antares le 4ème étage sur lequel était installé la charge utile qui atteignait ainsi presque 600 kg à 550 km. En conservant l'étage Altair, la fusée pouvait emporter 120 kg en orbite géostationnaire.

De son côté, la société BPD procédait, depuis le début des années 80, à une étude interne sur la possibilité de réaliser un petit lanceur utilisant des propulseurs à poudre disponibles, c'est à dire les boosters du lanceur Ariane en développement et les moteurs du missile Alfa abandonné en 1977. Après avoir envisagé diverses configurations, BPD retenait en 1986 le concept SB7 (Solid Booster 7), une fusée quadriétage à poudre. Le 1er étage devait être constitué de quatre boosters Ariane 4 dotés de tuyères orientables montés en faisceau autour du 2nd étage utilisant un autre booster Ariane 4 et surmonté du 3ème étage reprenant un booster Ariane 3. Le 4ème étage devait être dérivé de l'IRIS, initialement conçu comme étage supérieur du Shuttle pour le lancement de satellites Italiens. Le lanceur SB7, qui aurait mesuré 23 m de haut et pesé environ 50 t, aurait pu lancer une charge utile de 500 kg en orbite à 500 km d'altitude depuis la plate-forme San Marco.

En 1987, les deux projets furent regroupés et SNIA-BPD et LTV commencèrent l'étude commune d'un lanceur Eagle Scout, capable de lancer une charge utile d'environ 520 kg, soit le double du Scout, pour un prix équivalent à 150% de celui du lanceur américain. Ce projet reprenait le Scout classique en lui ajoutant deux boosters dérivés de ceux d'Ariane 3 avec une composition de propergol modifiée pour obtenir une poussée variable. Ces nouveaux boosters constituant le 1er étage étaient allumés avant le corps central conservant le propulseur Algol qui devenait le 2ème étage du lanceur. Le 4ème étage du Scout G1 était remplacé par le moteur d'apogée européen Mage 2.
Cet Eagle Scout, rebaptisé Scout 2 en 1988, devait servir initialement au projet germano-italien TOPAS pour le lancement, depuis la base San Marco, de capsules balistiques récupérables destinées aux expériences européennes en microgravité.

Tir d'essai de San Marco Scout Scout 2

En 1990, le CIPE (Comitato Interministeriale per la Programmazione Economica) approuva le projet San Marco Scout en finançant la modernisation de la plate-forme de tir San Marco et le développement du lanceur Scout 2. Plusieurs décisions en découlaient :
- la base San Marco serait équipée de nouveaux moyens de poursuite radar, de réception de télémesure et de soutien logistique pour la mise en oeuvre du Scout 2,
- le Scout 2 reprendrait les trois premiers étages du Scout G1 en remplaçant le moteur supérieur par un Mage 2 et en ajoutant deux boosters à poudre d'Ariane. La coiffe serait agrandie à un diamètre de 1,35 m (contre 1.067 m pour la plus large coiffe du G1),
- cette capacité de lancement serait complétée par le développement d'une capsule récupérable Carina (Capsula di Rientro Non Abitata) adaptée au Scout 2.

Pour différentes raisons, ce programme, qui prévoyait un premier lancement de Carina en 1992, n'a pas été réalisé. Un seul essai en vol a été effectué le 19 mars 1992 à Salto di Quirra, avec un des moteurs du nouveau lanceur - un PAP Ariane 4 doté d'une tuyère orientable - et deux maquettes de booster.

Liens
Université de Rome - San Marco Project


Sommet
de la page

Lanceurs
spatiaux

Véhicules
suborbitaux

Centres de
lancement

English


Adresser commentaires, corrections ou questions à Jean-Jacques Serra <JJ.Serra@wanadoo.fr>